Export camera to .chan file for Nuke

I was wondering if there’s any interest for getting Blender camera data into Nuke. I just abandoned Shake’s Multiplane node because I’m just not psychologically wreaked enough to trudge through that mess of a node. Shake is pretty nice but having full 3d capabilities like Nuke is nicer still.

I’m not a programmer but when this project is done in two weeks I’ll have a little time to finally play with python. Just want to make sure I’m not reinventing the wheel.

Oh, and I am using blender for the bulk of the 3d work, and in the interim, for the “multi-plane stuff.”

Here’s a brief example of .chan: http://www.vfxtalk.com/forum/camera-motion-max-nuke-t9962.html

Don’t know if it’s exactly what you’re looking for, but there’s currently an import/export script written for Terragen 2 which uses the .chan format for importing camera data. See here:

http://blenderartists.org/forum/showthread.php?t=113590&page=4

Thanks! It works well. I used latest svn (2.46) and changed the variables in the python script. Before export I needed to get my IPO on my camera as I was controlling the translation with an empty. It’s just a simple move along the z-axis. Probably not the best test.

In Nuke 4.7 I had to clear the x rotation as it was set to -90.

Hola!

Contrary secundar, I didn’t think the exporter worked that well, so since I couldn’t find any other blender2nuke scripts, needed to learn some Python and could use this for work and ignorantly thought it wouldn’t be so hard, I started to “port” this script to Blender 2.5.