Star Trek Renders

Hello.

I am new to blender and need help using it to create renders for backdrops in a Star Trek game under development. We could also us artist contributing directly to the project.

Star Trek Supremacy, a fan developed project, is a 4x game much like the game called Birth of the Federation. It is an international project, freeware and free of income in order to avoid conflict with CBS Paramount’s Star Trek brand. CBS Paramount is aware of our work and is allowing us to offer a multiplayer demo in the vender area of the Las Vegas Star Trek Convention in August. We will also have a panel discussion at the convention about fan game development. You are invited to attend and take part in the panel especially if you can contribute in a discussion of blender and programs like it contributing to projects like Star Trek Supremacy.

I have used blender to build models for the game. We still need help building star ship models but right now I am trying to complete ten rendered images for us in the game. We hope they can be included in the update for the Las Vegas demo. These images will be 2560 x 1600 and used as a background to Diplomacy and Intelligence UI windows. Each of the five playable races, (Federation, Klingon, Romulan, Cardassian and Dominion,) will have these window backgrounds. Currently I am working on the Romulan Intelligence image based on the Tal Shiar secret service of the Romulan Empire. We have had the professional comic book and game artist known as Slim contributing layout drawings for these images. Slim has worked on games like Star Trek Online. Slim’s drawing for the Tal Shiar is seen below. I have begun to design a model to render this image. So far all I have had the time to do is the back wall of this interior view of the Tal Shiar headquarters. We are all part time workers here.

The specific needs I have are:

1. How do I generate a fog or light mist in the model? Slim suggested that.