Tank Game WIP

Hello all. A bunch of my fellow players and I have been playing an online tank-shooter for about 13 years now, and it just recently went under (finally). We are all pretty depressed, so we decided to make our own tank-shooter! There is actually 3 projects underway. The games range from ‘exact clone’ to full blown sequel.

I have zero 3D modeling experience prior to 06-11-10, so this has been an interesting road for me. I am pretty much crashcourse learning everything that is Blender. (EDIT: Check out what I can do now!)

Let’s start out by me just showing you what this old 1996 game was like. Here are some of the tanks. (Low-Poly would be an understatement).

Vanguard (Well-rounded)
http://i911.photobucket.com/albums/ac319/RobMonty1987/vanguard1.jpg

Magrider (Hover)
http://i911.photobucket.com/albums/ac319/RobMonty1987/Mag1.jpg

Lightning (Fast)
http://i911.photobucket.com/albums/ac319/RobMonty1987/Lightning1.jpg

Devastator (Heavy Armor)
http://i911.photobucket.com/albums/ac319/RobMonty1987/Dev1.jpg

Chameleon (Stealthy)
http://i911.photobucket.com/albums/ac319/RobMonty1987/cham1.jpg

And here is some actual video of the game itself:
Player-made game trailer
A battle of lasers
Some ballistic battles

I will be working with my fellow players/programmers to recreate both a clone, sequel, and variant of this game.

Speaking in terms of the sequel, gameplay will consist of many types of modes, with the most common being… well… it doesn’t really have a name. Let’s call it “Regular”. It consists of a blend of CTF, Territories, and Deathmatch.