Theme Addon (+ custom theme!)

Hi, i’ve just created my first addon and want some feedback. this is my first real python project so i could really need some advice. the script generates a nested list from the paths where the theme settings are. then it uses the pickle module to save the list to a file. to open a theme file is just a matter of iterating through the list.
it’s designed to be low maintenance and should work even if new settings are added to the theme options.

however, i wouldn’t like to use the file browser to open a theme, but rather a dropdown menu which is generated by files in a specific directory. also the filebrowser for the save operator should default to the same standard directory. can anyone give me some hints on how to achieve this?

also general feedback is much welcome as i am a python newbie.

First version
here is a link to the addon together with two themes (one custom dark made by me + the default). Just rename it to “.zip” and unzip it
pasteall

Update 1
Here is a new version that uses zip compression to minimize the size of theme files.
LINK - rename to .zip
(for some reason, the “original” theme does not match the blender original, but that’s not the scripts fault but mine, just save a new original if you want)

Update 2 (current)
sorry for too frequent small updates, but this is a fix that gives higher precision to floats (previous implementations rounded them but this became unnecessary when compression was implemented).
LINK
Theme examples (rename to .zip)

Thanks!

thanks! I will try it as soon as I get home.

Hey, very nice, mow it is much easier to interchange themes.

THX, mib

Great Addon. Thank you JoS.

updated see first post

Very Nice Jos! This works great!

how do you work with this

i mean i extracted the last 2 themes and got 2 files

but then is there a script for this ?

mind you with all the changes in 2.5
i don’t know anymore how themes work or if you can save them or not !

Thanks happy 2.5

Ricky,