Minecraft inspired world generator.

Hello everyone :confused:

So the other day I downloaded MineCraft to give it a whirl. Well, turns out that I fell in love with that beautiful 16 bit texture game :slight_smile: So much infact, that I decided to try my hand at writing a world generator, much like that in MineCraft.

I donā€™t intend to make a game out of this, just a PoC; to prove that I can do it :smiley:

Note: I havenā€™t written any python scripts in the last 3 or so months, so bare with me. This is my first time touching the 2.5 api :o

When I finish this, Iā€™ll release it to the community (as always) so that 100 ā€œ1337 noob minecraft clone-but-somehow-better-and-donā€™t-forget-the-massive-MMO-engine-that-will-be-better-than-world-of-warcraftā€ projects can blossom and flood these forums!

So now, onto the screenshots of my ā€œengineā€ so far! (Itā€™s kinda hard to get multi-angle shots, because everytime I restart the engine it regenerates)

(oops, hit limit :frowning: )

So basically the way my script is working is like this:

First I tell it to generate a list of coordinates ranging from 0 to the max width (mine is 16 right now, but I can change on number and itā€™ll generate whatever I want at any time :smiley: ), then repeat that for each of the directions (x,y,z). This map is 16x16x5. You have to be careful though when making large maps, I tried 128x128x128 and nearly crashed my computer (as it was creating 2,097,152 cubes!). Then itā€™s generating the odds of placing each tile (on sea level the borders will always be water). So therefore if itā€™s next to water it has a higher chance of generating water or sand than grass or dirt; and so on and so forth.

When generating the hight it looks for which tile is below it. If itā€™s dirt it will ALWAYS generate either more dirt or grass.