Mewtwo

Hey guys,

I made a Mewtwo mesh a few years ago which now looks like garbage so I’m giving him another go. I intend to rig up and animate this model for a portfolio but most importantly I want the topology to be good. Unfortunately topology is something I’m not very good at so I need some help getting the face right. Here’s my progress so far:

At the moment I have lots of poles and a triangle mixed in there, I only put it there so there was something for now. What do you guys suggest I should do to get rid of it and make my loops nice and tidy? Thanks for your input :slight_smile:

An occasional triangle is probably no biggie unless it is noticable in the render. It looks to me like you could probably get by with less polys, but the edgeflow looks pretty smooth. Since you are just getting to the eye, I would reccomend placing the eyeball, scaling it up slightly, and then using the retopo tool to transition into the eyeball shape. I have found the retopo tool in 2.5 is inferior to 2.49, but for little jobs it does ok.

[withdrawn]

Yeah I would say you can get the same shape with 80% less polygons, unless you need the details for sculpting. Forehead,around mouth and eyes can be greatly reduced. Always start simple and add polys as you go.

Thanks for the comments everyone :slight_smile: Yeh low poly has always been an Achilli’s Heel of mine so I’ll see how we go.
@ RiVit: I’d already tried that out but hadn’t kept it because when I subdivided and smoothed the mesh it created a kink in the surface :confused: I’ll give the retopo a go, I guess if the odd pole or triangle isn’t too disasterous I might not strain myself getting rid of them.

I’ll finish the shape of the head for now and then retopo for fewer polys this evening.

Ok here we are with attempt 2, I’m pretty happy with this one, with a little bit of polish I’ll move onto the body. And just a quick little render:

What do you guys think of this one?

looks good, and only a fraction of the polygons.