Kenny Dorham's Backyard - The Game

Hello,

Introduction

The plan is a pretty simple game that I am using to teach myself more aspects of blender game programming. It would be a good opportunity if your main goal is to learn certain aspects of blender in a collaborative way, sharing your strengths while getting help from others where you get stuck. Game elements will be added depending on what you want to learn.

I was a physics engine coder for two years and shipped three titles, and am fairly comfortable with modifying blender c++ code and writing python scripts. My weakness is in the modeling and “making things look pretty” field. This game project will likely last about 2 months, at the end of which we will “ship” the game to all our friends. (Note that having shipped game experience is the most important part of getting hired at a game company).

Platform

May 2012. PC game. I have blender 2.63 installed on windows7 and Ubuntu.

Game Concept

Kenny Dorham’s Backyard is a real place in Austin Texas, live music capital of the USA. We need to make a concept sketch of the community garden/ sustainable technology park for presentation to the city. Our main challenge is all the permits required to do a pretty simple, positive thing. So the superVillan of the game is an old lady permit officer who comes around and gives you tickets for not having permits for all the fun things you want to do at Kenny Dorham’s Backyard.

Select to play the game as one of three characters.

-Hippie with a flower cannon. Can shoot seeds or saplings of flowers, edibles or trees
Permit Lady gets you for not having a permit for flower cannon. We will use the new sapling addon and scripting to grow flowers and trees when the cannon is aimed at the right terrain.

-Conceptual artist installing sculptures (sample installations - bird feeder, fountain)