My_first_Blender_game (Beginner BGE tutorial series)

Hello everyone!

This is a tutorial series aimed at complete beginner in the game engine that you teach you in great detail how to create a basic platformer in the BGE. I hope you’ll find it useful and don’t forget to leave me your feedback!

Part 1 : Movement setup
Part 1.5 : Physic types, shaders and collision bounds

Part 2 : Double jump setup
Part 2.5 : Local vs global, Touch vs collision and bugs in part 2

Part 3 : Pickup objects
Part 3.5 : UV and object animation

Part 4 : menus and healthbar
Part 4.5 : Text, scene, animation and controllers

Part 5 : counters (real time text objects)
Part 5.5 : Modify the realtime bitmap text image

Part 6 : Character animation
Part 6.5 : Introduction to rigging and animation

Part 7 : Enemy setup
Part 7.5 : Sounds and 2D filters

part 8 : Conclusion

I have also added the initial and final blend file if you would like to poke around or compare your final result. Note that some .5 part changes did not affect the final part (the double jump with cervo control for example).

Enjoy and start making those games already. ^^

Even though I was dead tired yesterday and couldn’t finish the second video, I enjoyed what I saw thus far. I’m looking forward to the next episode. :slight_smile:

By the way, maybe this thread would be better in the Tutorials forum (a moderator may move it for you if you want)?

I dont know, i believe its more suited here, because new users would have to sift through hours of other tuts for other sections…this is specifically for the BGE

Thanks ManOfSteel. I’m glad you enjoyed it. =P

For the tutorial section… I thought I was in it, I am not? 0o

Your in Game Engine > Resources
He means Support > Tutorials

But I think you should definitely stay here! :slight_smile: Loving the tutorials by the way!