Realtime armature control in game engine

Hi - I’m very new to Blender. I am trying to do real time control of a robot arm (actually it is the shuttle Canadarm). So, while the user presses a button I would like one particular bone to move.

The arm has 3 sections to which I have added 3 bones. In pose mode, I can control each bone individually. But I can’t do this in the Game Engine. I can only control the entire armature (all 3 bones).

How do I control each bone individually?

Thanks

Can someone please confirm if this MUST be done in Python (and perhaps point to s starting example?) or if there is another way to do this?

I tried experimenting with adding a ‘control’ bone (bone not attached to the Canadarm armature) and then tried to constrain one of the Canadarm armature bones to the control bone. So when I move the control bone the associated Canadarm bone moves accordingly. Works fine in 3D model view but not in real time game engine! Is there some way to make this work real time or should I go down the Python route?

can make different action and start it with 3 actuators action differents.

key A->AND->ActionA
key B->AND->ActionB
key C->AND->ActionC

select “play mode” in the actuators.
i think which this work, and is easy .

with python is very difficult move the bone

MarcoIT - but wouldn’t Actions be limited to a predefined animation? What I’m looking for is, for example, while user presses keyA the arm rotates clockwise in X direction and stops only when user releases keyA. If I use actions, isn’t the amount of movement pre-defined? Sorry, I don’t know actions capabilities - I am new to Blender!

yes, I think it is as you say,

to rotate the bone on the X axis (rotation no “predefinied”), you have to use python,
i Think

something I can do, but I felt there were some bugs (at least in older versions)

I try to do some tests …

ok, this is the best I can for now, I never managed to turn the bones with python :slight_smile: