Scathing commentary on Blender.

Well, damn, I just read a scathing commentary on Blender. I won’t call it a review because, in my mind anyway, he seems to have never become the least bit proficient in the program. The very thing others, including many users of Maya, find streamlined to a work flow he is crying about. I started to leave a comment but he wouldn’t get it. And, I mean ‘He wouldn’t get it’. At seventy four his feeble comments didn’t even piss me off and that wouldn’t have been the case… . Damn he would have lost his mind attempting anything in 2.49. He,d be in a rubber room somewhere if he has a problem with right clicking. LOL! Matter of fact I would find his remarks humorous except for one thing. He could be taken seriously by some. http://www.redsharknews.com/business/item/173-blender-love-it-and-or-hate-it

I installed and uninstalled blender 4 times before it finally made sense. I have been using it for 3 years now and can not do my job without it. Speaking from personal experience I can say that the following companies use models/animations/effects created in Blender:

Siemens
NAACP
ESPN
Home Depot
Chick Fil a
BMI
Quantum Digital
Eppointments
Modern City Moms
Precision Enterprises LLC

And I am sure I am not the only freelancer making a full time living using Blender. Is blender as good as the “big boys” Who cares? Not a single one of the companies listed above cared what software I used to create their models/animations.

So does this article bother me? Not even a little.

it’s mildly interesting to me that he focuses his criticism only on the UI. that’s disingenuous at best, downright lazy at worst. it would have been much more interesting to see him critique the guts of blender - the quality of its modeling tools, camera tracker, texture painting, VSE, etc. otherwise it’s like saying star wars episode 1 sucks because of jar jar binks. yeah, he was annoying, but it’s a lazy way of critiquing an entire movie.