Cyclamen - realistic flower tissue study

Hi everyone,
this is my first post here, so please forgive me if I screwed up something :slight_smile:

Two months ago, after being infected by Andrew Price’s tutorials (he just makes things look cool and easy), I started playing with Blender. So yes, I’m a newbie :slight_smile:

I wanted to make a realistic looking flower.
The goal is to make it realistic even on a massive close-up, almost microscopic. So, this is more a material challege for me, rather than modelling (or perhaps I’m wrong?). I’m using the Cycles renderer.

In my current progress I feel that I’m missing something with the petals tissue, I don’t exactly know what. Therefore I ask for your feedback.

One note: the depth of field is very wide on purpose - at this stage I want to see the details of everything.

Cheers!

OK, so I’ve found an amazing close-up photo on Wikimedia Commons. Photo: Thomas Bresson

Looks like there’s lots of work ahead :slight_smile:

This photo should explain why I used so much pollen dust:
Imgur

Hey, welcome to Blender. It looks like you’re doing well with it. I’ve not seen the tutorial you’re talking about, but your renders are looking nice.

Thank you Frobenius for the kind word. I was talking about Andrew’s tutorials in general. I haven’t found any tutorials for flower extreme close-ups :slight_smile:

Here’s a new version with slight changes to the petal material on a high detail level. Still not quite the real thing, but I think it’s more believable now. Looking forward to hearing your critique. Cheers!

Happy New Year everyone!
Sorry for the long break. Christmas family chaos is lovely, but leaves no space to your hobbies :wink:

I’ve made a few changes: I got a proper microscopic detail level scale: the pollen particles are now of the proper size (10 micrometers) and the tissue cells are now much smaller too. I still keep DoF very wide to see all the details.

Here’s also one extreme close-up render:

What do you think?