Corvus Corax

Hi everyone,
This is my first post on this forum, so I feel a bit intimidated :wink:
Well here’s a project I’ve just finished - or so. I’m quite new to blender (a few month) and this is my first serious project, I hope you’ll like it.
Modelled, textured, rigged and composited in Blender. Rendered in cycles. I also used Photoshop for textures and minor final tonal changes.
It was first designed to be a simple low poly raven, but things turned out challenging and I pushed a little forward. Final model is fully rigged (based on Kent Trammel’s Piero set up) with extensive use of particles for both the bird and the environment.
Final scene is 2 871 865 faces and took about 6 hours to render in HD (2160X2700 px)! My computer needs a break now :slight_smile: !
I still cannot tell if I prefer the color or the black and white version. What do you think?

Here’s a clay render :

I’m sure ther’s still a lot to do to make this scene better, so, any suggestion and advice is more than welcome.

I’m taking profit of this post to say my gratitude to the whole blender community that make the learning of this software a bit more simple and the developpers who made all this possible. A special thanks to kent Trammel (man, I learned a lot from you), Gleb alexandrov, Andrew “funny” Price and Frederik Steinmetz whose tuts are so brilliant.

Good work! I really like the composition, and I think the DoF works nicely. I would definitely keep it in color, rather than black and white. My biggest critique is that the specularity on the birds chest looks really weird. I’m not sure if it’s too bright, or if it’s just the texture, but something there doesn’t look quite right.

Nice, I like the camera angle and the DOF, and the fallen leaves is a nice touch, the grass looks good. I see some chromatic abration It works really well in this shot.

Some things that looks weird:

• The main element in the picture which is the bird, the specularity on it looks weird.