Tunneling help

I’m still learning this program, but so far I’m coming along well I thing. I’ve set the motorcycle project aside for something a little simpler that I’ll be able to turn into a papercraft model more quickly so as to learn more about that end of it. so what it is is a model of Samurai Jack, based on one image from one angle, which required me to work out the views from the other angles on my own, which was a little more challenging that I anticipated, but I think I’ve managed that pretty well so far, and the model is nearly finished.

but one thing I need help with is that I need to punch rectangular holes down the center of the block-like hands in order for them to hold the handle of the sword, so using the bottom edges of the handle to define the tunnel. it is important that the holes be the exact shape of the handle (and just a touch larger to account for the width of the cardstock) so that it will fit, and be fully faced on the interior, as I believe this will improve structural stability. I also intend to use the technique to join several other parts, so even if I eventually decide that this isn’t the way to go for this part, I’ll still need to know it.

I am using version 2.71, and I have Loop Tools, as recommended to me to solve my previous roadblock.

you could use the knife project to cut hole though several layers of mat !

happy bl

how do I do that? I tried using knife project after selecting all the object concerned, thinking that that’s what would happen, but it kept giving an error saying I needed to select two or more objects, which I thought I had. I then tried joining them, but it still gave me the same error. I’m really not very clear on how to use knife or knife project.