Interstellar Black Hole (Gargantua)

Hi everyone.

Interstellar gave me a pretty big dose of inspiration. Gravitational lensing on black hole just shocked me, it was just mesmerising. Being an astronomy and sci-fi fan, i just couldn’t resist trying to do something similar myself.

Obviously i’m not a coder to write a renderer or a shader to properly simulate gravitational lensing. So i figured out a trick wich (in render, not as a post effect) simulates gravitational lensing in reasonably acurate way, as it’s still a trick. But result came out pretty consistent with result in movie itself. That was a surprise for me.

The accretion disk is a smoke simulation with some complex shading network, had to use heavy retexturing.

It’s still a wip. C&C are welcome as always.

latest version

16 Likes

Render with no post effects, and one of the early tests of accretion disk

3 Likes

Great work rainbow, love to get my mitts on a blend file to take it to bits!

1 Like

Good job! Wonder how did you make the gravity trick…

I agree, give us the blend and the some screenshots of the nodes. :slight_smile: Looks amazing!

That’s very nice :smiley: Congratulations !!!

Wow looks very intriging! i like the other non post pro image as well. The shot below that looks some how like a rug or a drape of whool :slight_smile:

Thanx guys. I’ll share the distortion setup blend as soon as i’ll finish the project. There is still few other objects to be done. Spaceship, planet… Black hole itself isnt finished yet. the disk is too uniform, it has almost no large scale details, while small scale ones are relatively good (still not good enough). And the post effects ofcourse is just a test, done in 15 min.

Gravitional lensing is done through complex refraction surfaces with variable (gradient) index of refraction. Shader nodes are relatively complex there. I’ll share more scene screenshots and node setups in upcoming posts.