Is Blender's video editor worth learning? Is there a better free alternative?

I’m pretty new to Blender, I’ve had it for awhile but barely used it. I needed to edit a short video yesterday and tried to use Blender but it’s a very steep learning curve and I didn’t have time to invest in figuring out how to use it, although I spend about 30 minutes using a tutorial.
I think Blender is fantastic for animation but from someone with experience how is it with video editing after you’ve learned how to use it?
Is there something else you’d rather use?

I’m wanting an editor where I can add effects into the clip and do color correcting, all that jazz.

If you could send me a link of a video you’ve edited with Blender, that’d be great!

Thanks in advance

I’d suggest using a dedicated video editor, more straightforward and user friendly. They also come with more built in effects etc

1 Like

I don´t know about the video editor but the compositor is worth learning. That´s where you can do all the color correcting and effects stuff. It´s quite powerful in regards to some things like openEXR support and less powerful in other regards such as realtime preview. But all in all I´d say it´s useful to a certain degree.
Personally I want to look into Natron when I have time to do so. Until then I use the Blender Compositor. I use After Effects when I need to do certain things which are annoying with Blender.

Hey MyaLynn,

Blender’s video editor is quite robust. It can do almost all your standard editing tasks, and it continues to improve and adopt new features. It is true that there is a learning curve but what’s great is that the things you learn while editing are largely applicable to Blender at large (hotkeys, color settings, modifiers, etc). So you learn blender at the same time, and incorporate 3d effects into your editing workflow. The best tutorials I found were by Mikeycal Meyers, here: