Path Tracer for Gradient Domain Path Tracer

Hello everybody,

I am new in this forum and I am a newbie in the computer graphics field. I need some help in my project that I keep bringing on since months without big results. What I am trying to implement on my own is a gradient domain path tracer in C++:

https://mediatech.aalto.fi/publications/graphics/GPT/

Before arriving at the main algorithm itself, I am trying to build my own path tracer where afterward I can work on the GDPT. Due to my lack of knowledge in computer graphics, results so far are not great. What I have tried to follow so far is this implementation that contains both a simple Path Tracer and a GDPT built on it:

So I tried to reproduce this code on my framework, I am going to explain you slowly the problem but it just needs a bit or prerequisites. The rest is just the implementation of the rendering equation that somehow is wrong.

First of all: the following is the definition of a struct (will be declared and initialized later), containing some scene info needed to cast ray from the camera into the scene.

struct RenderData
{
    vec3 E;
    vec3 p1;
    vec3 dx;
    vec3 dy;
};

It is initialized in the InitializeScene method:

void InitializeScene(){ // setup virtual screen plane
  vec3 E( 2, 8, -26 ); //Eye position
  vec3 V( 0, 0, 1 ); //LookAt vector
  float d = 0.5f, ratio = SCRWIDTH / SCRHEIGHT, focal = 18.0f;
  vec3 p1(E + V * focal + vec3(-d * ratio * focal, d * focal, 0)); // top-left screen corner in SCREEN SPACE
  vec3 p2(E + V * focal + vec3(d * ratio * focal, d * focal, 0)); // top-right screen corner
  vec3 p3(E + V * focal + vec3(-d * ratio * focal, -d * focal, 0)); // bottom-left screen corner
  mat4 M = rotate( mat4( 1 ), r, vec3( 0, 1, 0 ) );
  p1 = vec3(M * vec4(p1, 1.0f)); //rotating the above points
  p2 = vec3(M * vec4(p2, 1.0f));
  p3 = vec3(M * vec4(p3, 1.0f));
  renderData.dx = (p2 - p1) / (float)SCRWIDTH;
  renderData.dy = (p3 - p1) / (float)SCRHEIGHT;