Texture Atlas, Tiled Map

Hello, I’m pretty new to Blender, worked myself through many tutorials and I just need basic modeling, which I think I can do at this point.
I work on games with Unity and want to create the map with Blender. The map should be somewhat tilebased, so I’d thought I create a grid mesh. I don’t want to import a new image texture for every face ( which are my squared tiles ) but rather a single image that contains all the possible tile images, similar to this:
http://www.blockstory.net/sites/default/files/imagecache/wysiwyg_imageupload_lightbox_preset/wysiwyg_imageupload/4891/textures.png
What’s the best workflow here? I want my game to look something like this:

So there’s lot of flat surfaces and it looks tilebased, but theres also some slopes in the game, but if I learn how to make a tilebased floor then I think I can do the rest. Is there a way to select a face and then select the tile image ( as part of a larger image, the texture atlas ) ? That would be the best workflow in my opinion. I don’t want to spend too much time UV unwrapping ( as I said, I’m pretty new, though I already learned a lot ).

Any ideas or useful links? I saw many tutorials about the blender basics and modeling etc., but texturing is really the problem it seems.

Thanks for your time.

Jan

bumping the thread

Good question, I also want to know how to do for performance issues.

If your mesh is based on a default Grid or copied from this Grid faces which all are equally square sized:

• select faces which you want a grass e.g. and U unwrap - Reset.
  • select all in UV editor (where you have your tile atlas image open) and scale, position on a grass tile.
    UV editor options Snap to Pixels and scaling using 2d cursor as a pivot which is placed on one corner where uv points are aligned with a texture helps a lot. Rotate aligned faces using 2d cursor Median Point option if needed.
    Select next batch of faces and do the same.