Need suggestions for new hardware aimed at rendering

I need some suggestions for new hardware aimed at rendering as my desktop starts to get abit old.
What do I need to consider for the best rendering speed and performance? What experiences do you guys have with your current hardware? I do mostly outdoor simulations and some minor inndoors environment.

I also switch between Maya and Blender for modeling and composing. Price is no problem as I have a system for moneysaving. I am by no means an hardware expert, so I hope for some advices (No hardware wars)

My current desktop:
Case: HAF932
GPU: Asus GeForce GTX 680 DirectCU II OC 2GB
CPU: Intel Core i7-2600K
RAM: Corsair Dominator DHX DDR3 8GB
Motherboard: Asus Maximus IV Extreme B3

GPU: Asus GeForce GTX 680 DirectCU II OC 2GB
There are much better up to date GPUs and the 2GB onboard memory will probably be a stumbling block for rendering any complex scenes

It’s a good time to plan a hardware upgrade as several next generation components from major vendors have just released or will be shortly. This is my running spec list for hardware I’m considering for my 2016 CG workstation upgrade.

Intel Broadwell-E Core i7-6950X (10 Core, 3/3.5GHz) - Possible launch @ COMPUTEX 2016 May 31-June 4
Render GPU NVIDIA (Pascal) GeForce GTX 1080 x3 SLI disabled - Launched May 6th (yesterday), availability May 27
Console GPU NVIDIA Titan x1
ASUS Rampage V Extreme X99 Motherboard with LGA 2011-v3 CPU socket
G.SKILL 32GB 4x8GB DDR4 3000 MHz P/N - F4-3000C16Q-32GRR

My existing legacy system specs are thus:

Intel Core i7 4960X (6 cores, 12 threads)
NVIDIA GeForce GTX Titans (3 cards)
G.SKILL 64GB DDR3 RAM (2800 MHz)
ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition motherboard
EK water cooling components
Samsung 840 EVO 1TB SSD (2 in a RAID mirror)
Corsair Obsidian Series 900D Super Tower case
ASUS PQ321Q 32 inch 4K monitor

Build log: http://stirlinggoetz.blogspot.com

Some considerations: