Prickly Asteroidea

Hi there! This is my first post on BA. I’m pretty new to Blender, started out just about a month ago or so. I’m not totally new to 3D though. I’m frequently working with 3D Assets in Unity, as a programmer, and learned the basics of modeling more than a decade ago with Lightwave. A few weeks ago I still had a hard time modeling a simple power outlet, but slowly I’m starting to like my renders. So, here is my latest intent. I’m pretty happy with it right now, though I guess in a week or so I will start to detect noob errors all over it. You can help me to speed up this process, your critics are welcome, thanks! :slight_smile:

Update: One week later, final render

Attachments

Looking very good already! The two thinks I think you could improve on are the textures and the lighting:
The textures, especially on the side of the arms, are the first thing that you could work on. Maybe you need higher resolution textures, maybe the biggest problem is the mapping. I would suggest you to have a look at techniques of UV mapping to fix the arm textures. I personally prefer using procedural textures and bump maps, as flat image textures often look, well, flat.
The lighting looks good already, although this image might become more believable if you would add typical underwater light, with refraction patterns because of the water. And maybe particles in the water and a kind of underwater mist, because of smaller particles, would be a good idea, to take away the clean, artificial look. Not too much, but a bit.
Those are the things I think you could improve on, though I think that you are already coming along very well! :wink:

Thats the most striking power outlet I’ve ever seen!!! :wink:

Nice modeling. Are you using Blender color management?