Blender for Architectural Concept Design

Hi,

I am an architect and designer and I have been using Blender for almost 10 years, lately quite frequently in the office as well. I have been using Blender quite a bit for concept design and development, and it is my preferred tool for quick design, much easier to get something decent modelled than in Rhino.

I have noticed that there aren’t many tutorials showing how Blender can be used for architectural concept design, so I decided to create a series on it, aimed towards anyone from complete beginners to more advanced users.

I have uploaded the first 4 videos that give a very general and highly specific overview of Blender, covering only the tools required for concept design and should help anyone with a few hours to spare to get started.

Here is a link to the tutorials: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLJThqQUeIsPStPWHyiE-_4BMEgs0k8VEQ

Next, I will be creating simple architectural objects and showing the process, step by step.

3 Likes

Hey, love the clear videos, im sure some beginners would find this very easy to be introduced to.
Will you be covering materials, lighting and rendering in this series?

Thank you. I have finished the series, which covers basic lighting and rendering with Blender Internal. As the focus is more on modeling, the renderings are only so as to present the idea beautifully and in a very fast manner, without providing realism. Here is an example:

Full series - 6 videos:
http://uhstudio.com/pavilion-concept-design/

Hi Dimitarsp, nice works you have here. Is it possible, or do you have a workflow to produce complete construction documents without leaving Blender, or a blender course perhaps?

Nice works you have here Dimitarsp. Just asking, is there a way or possibilities of producing construction documents just by using Blender, sort of a revit or sketchup style? Or do you have a course that discusses such a workflow? Thanks in advance for the reply.

@tondatu thank you.