How to render faster?

how can I make blender render things faster? I’m rendering an animation, and at this rate, it will take 20 hours to render a 56 frame animation. :o :frowning:

Well, I’m not an expert, but I can give a few pointers based on what I’ve come across.

raytracing: for animation, unless you really need it try to not use it. If thats really how long your’s is taking, I imagine you have a lot of raytracing. going on. Some of it may be necessary, but I’m betting alot of it could be done without.

generally use z-buffer lamps over raytraced ones. Set the samples and shadowbuffer as low as possible but having it still look good. Similarly, turn the samples down on everything as low as you can get away with people not really noticing (lights, subsurf, raydepth, etc.)

Those are the things that seem to help the render times the most for me. Remember, your not lighting for a still shot, you have to render 25-30 frames\sec. adjust lighting complexity and render resolution accrodingly.

A search in the forum might yield more comprehesive tips, one in particular is rendering in passes, though thats a little more involved than turning down samples.

What type of scene this is exsactly? Do you use internal renderer or Yafray? What are your system specs? (And yes, MBlur+OSA 16 is sure way to making not so complex image to render for 40 mins on 2 GHZ)

These are my render settings:
http://img346.imageshack.us/img346/8263/renderscreenshot4kd.png

and here is a screen shot of the area I’m rendering:
http://img346.imageshack.us/img346/1378/basewithtankatvandpelican0dq.jpg

I’m using a laptop, with a 2.8ghz P4 with HTT, WinXP Media Center 2005, 512MB DDR 400, and a 256MB ADI Mobility Radeon X600

wow, there is your problem!