Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Member Odjin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    alpha-8
    Posts
    1,127

    Blender only renders black

    i have this problem only on my laptop. i open a file which renders well on my desktop pc but on the laptop it renders all black. if i set the ambient color to full white it renders all grey. i have no idea what could cause this problem. has anybody seen a similar thing or knows a way to narrow down the problem?



  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    16
    same problem with yafray on my notebook..
    blender renders normally but yafray doesnt (black or collapse).



  3. #3
    Member Odjin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    alpha-8
    Posts
    1,127
    with me it's the other way round. blender does render blackness and yafray somehow looks up.



  4. #4
    Member Jace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Tennessee, Chattanooga, Harrison, House, Computer
    Posts
    403
    If its black, then you have Radiocity enabled without setting it up, or you lack a camera, or you lack lighting. Or there's a conflict with your graphics card.
    Whenever I get a blank screen, I have usually accidentally deleted a camera or forgot to set one.

    But hey... you're smarter than that, right?

    ~JACE~
    “The journey of a thousand vertices begins with a single cube…”



  5. #5
    Donating Member NeOmega's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Seattle, Wa
    Posts
    1,255
    No lights...

    I have run into this after using AO for my lighting for weeks, then I try to do a quicker render, and turn it off, and forget to put a lamp in. :P



  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    944
    I had the same problem perhaps, finally found a solution.
    That was installing Yafray. Render buttons
    are there ready for Yafray, but Yafray is not within blender
    installation.



  7. #7
    Member Odjin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    alpha-8
    Posts
    1,127
    people, this is getting serious... IT STARTED TOO ON MY DESKTOP!!! IT'S ALL BLACK!

    i have the EXACT same setup as before it worked ( i loaded the same file, no changes to it since then ) and it is all black.

    i have lights, i have a camera, i have all it takes for a render but suddenly all is black with all my files.

    wtf is going on here?!



  8. #8
    Member Smoky Joe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Puerto Rico
    Posts
    340
    I have a model that always does that when I'm doing multiple renderings. A quick fix would be to save->render at low quality->reload file->render as you should.

    If it still has that problem, instead of reloading the file, restart blender.



  9. #9
    Member Macaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    USSR
    Posts
    1
    I'm relieved to find that I'm not the only one with this issue. The same happened to me. First it occured on my desktop running Windows XP SP2. Then I navigated my project to my laptop running Windows Vista Home Premium. It seems to me that the python log/console that runs prior to the Blender program has disappeared and I'm unsure how this affects the Blender. I'm on Blender 2.59. Alright, it seems like I just rendered a new animation and it seems to working fine for me now. I would recommend reinstalling Blender or downgrading if you have a situation similar to mine where I do have lighting and a camera. I hypothesize however, that the source of my problem is from my graphics card. I have an integrated Radeon HD 4250, and my msi motherboard did not properly install the drivers to Windows XP. Hope this helped.



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •