purple dot at center of model?

hi, i’m kinda new to blender & I met this problem while following the tutorial over here :
http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Blender_3D:_Noob_to_Pro/Putting_Hat_on_Person

1.) I made the hat & the person, but I happen to made them in 2 different blender files. How could I sent my hat.blend file over to my human.blend file?

2.) I’m really confused about rotation from global axis & rotation from local axis at that link. How am I able to tell my local x, y & z since I don’t see any coloured lines ?

3.) From that tutorial it say that the purple dot should be in the center of my shape & if it isn’t I should follow their steps which is to

Important to note is that the shape will rotate around its origin, or center point, indicated by a small, blue dot that was created when you created the shape. It should be in the center of your vertices, but if it isn’t, there are a couple of ways to get it back. One is to go into edit mode, select all vertices, and move them around the center point. Another is use the LMB to put the cursor where you would like the center point, go into object mode and press the “center cursor” button in editing panel (F9). Or you could hit SHIFT+SKEY, select Selection > Center.

I did that but apart from the 1st method which is me manually moving the vertices to around the center purple dot point, all the other methods result in the whole model dissapearing the moment I did selection > center.

Thanks for helping out.

1. Open the human.blend and use File Append menu to get the object from the hat.blend. (Browse to the hat.blend and then select what you want to get from it).

2. If use press R to rotate, you’re gonna do a global rotation. However if you press R again, you’ll be rotating around a local axis. You can also see the word Global under the 3D view, which let’s you switch the orientation for scaling and rotating to Global or Local.