Blender units?

I know this has been discussed; a thread about this is on the same board-page of this thread. However, I have wondered about the unit scale for Blender. I’ve been viewing people argue about this thing for over 8 months or so. I’ve decided to get back into blender from a year ago, since I want to be able to create some 3D visuals of things.

Now, I’m not an engineer (I have science and math background), but other than that, I keep seeing discussion about “blender units.”

Now, since the days of Greece and Rome, people have socially constructed various units of measurement. People have used the hand as measurement and more. However, I’m thinking Blender is a little more “constant.”

The concept here is a thing called a constant. Are blender units constant? IF a blender unit was equivalent to one foot, then (blender unit)(blender unit) = 144ft^2

The problem with ancient measurements is that not every man’s hand is of the same dimension. Are blender units constant? At any time during user usage do they change? If not, then I assume a blender unit could be assumed to be virtually any unit. Well, maybe not amperes or voltage, but you get the idea.

I guess if they can be assumed to be any unit, then the next problem would be zooming and scaling. I’m pretty sure 100 picometers would be quite the annoying thing to zoom out of. heh.

Is it possible to control the units when creating new objects? I assume that’s the most important thing. In other words, if I wanted a 4x4x4 blender-units cube (not cubed, but the cube is 64 blenderunits^3), could I obtain that? How do I manipulate the unit variables of objects, such as cubes, circles, and cylinders?