Blender question from a Python programmer

Hi everyone,

I am a seasoned Python programmer, and I am trying to figure out Blender. My goal is to write a game using Blender and Python and to distribute it as a standalone executable (ie: NOT distribute Blender or the Python interpreter with the game).

Here are my questions:

1. I know you can run Python scripts within Blender, wowee. So once I create my models, armatures, scenes, sensors, actuators, controllers, etc., what do I have to do to get them to work with Python outside of Blender so that I can do the animation for a game?

2. What is the purpose of Blender’s export function? Would exporting from Blender then allow me to use Python to manipulate those objects for a game?

3. What is Yable? How is it connected to any of this?

4. What is the “RealTimeEngine”? Is it just Blender’s API for Python to manipulate objects/models/whatever within Blender?

5. What is Publisher? I assume it publishes a game as an executable. But does it publish a game with my Python scripts wrapped up in the executable?

6. I’ve been reading that various versions of Blender no longer have a game engine, or some incomplete engine, etc. Which latest version of Blender should I use with which version of Python?

Thanks In Advance for answering my questions!

1. Not sure, I haven’t had much experience with the game engine and python.

2. Exporting from Blender usually exports a file’s data (usually meshes, often lamps, sometimes other things) and writes it to a file format to be read by another program. There is a directx exporter to .x files which may be used in game programming. However, once exported, these files are no longer tied to Blender - they are tied to the program that they were exported to. Read more about Yable for more info…

3. Yable is a Python export script which exports Blender data into Yafray’s XML format. It has no bearing on realtime games, the exported data is independent of Blender and is only used by Yafray.