Blender material to OpenGL material

Sorry if this seems like a real basic question, or if it’s been covered before, but a quick search didn’t turn much up for me.

I’m a Blender newbie, but have had a lot of experience with OpenGL programming. I have started looking at Blender to use as a modeller and have started a Python script to export the models in my own defined format so that I can read the data into an OpenGL application I’m working on.

My question concerns the Blender material properties. There are a lot of them. Many of the properties of the materials can be achieved by various techniques in OpenGL. Right now, I’m not planning on implementing any of these. For now, I just want to have the basic OpenGL material properties exported. The problem is, there doesn’t seem to be a good 1 to 1 mapping of the Blender material properties to OpenGL material properties.

For those unfamiliar with OpenGL materials, it has the following properties:

Ambient: An RGBA value that specifies the color of the reflected ambient light
Diffuse: An RGBA value that specifies the color of the reflected diffuse light
Specular: An RGBA value that specifies the color of the reflected specular light
Emission: An RGBA value that specifies the color of the emitted light
Shininess: A value in the range [0-128] that is used to determine the amount of the specular light component.

Right now, the way I’m converting the Blender material to the OpenGL materials is something like so…

# PseudoCode

# Should this be multiplied by BMat.amb?
GLMat.Ambient = [BMat.rgbCol[0], BMat.rgbCol[1], BMat.rgbCol[2], BMat.alpha]

# These two are easy enough...
GLMat.Diffuse = [BMat.rgbCol[0], BMat.rgbCol[1], BMat.rgbCol[2], BMat.alpha]
GLMat.Specular = [BMat.specCol[0], BMat.specCol[1], BMat.specCol[2], BMat.specTransparency]

# Not sure on this one.  rgbCol * emit? 
GLMat.Emission = ?

# Is this one BMat.hard, BMat.spec or some combination?
GLMat.shininess = BMat.hard / 2