Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 90
  1. #1
    Member migius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    817

    CADtools - alpha release (for 2.49)



    CAD-tools script goes in evaluation phase:
    2009.10.22 - the first developer-version is out.
    2009.12.13 - the first alpha-version is out.
    2010.03.22 - 90% release: 0.46-alpha
    2010.06.17 - release 0.49-alpha: prepared for Blender 2.49-cad-edition
    2010.07.16 - release 0.50-alpha: improved Bezier-Curves support
    2011.08.15 - release 0.60-alpha: more complete and stable
    2011.12.22 - release 0.64-alpha: initial BIM implementation
    2013.01.28 - release 0.65-alpha: updated BIM-tools and more

    project homepage: www.cad4arch.com/cadtools

    The new features in CADtools need patched Blender 2.49-CAD-edition.
    Last edited by migius; 28-Jan-13 at 07:08. Reason: updated release log



  2. #2
    Member jawra's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    677
    It's nice but I can't see any download link !?
    PEACE !!!



  3. #3
    Member migius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    817
    Originally Posted by jawra View Post
    It's nice but I can't see any download link !?
    no link needed, cause after registering you will get your evaluation copy per email.



  4. #4
    Member Kai Kostack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    896
    wow, nice surprise. i only hope you don't need to rotate the monitor like this.

    joking aside, looks like you put some serious efforts into this. i wish you all success with this project as you deserve it. i'm sure blendernation will be reporting on this too.

    will you speak at blender conference about it?



  5. #5
    Member jawra's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    677
    OK thanks. I'm gonna test it.
    PEACE !!!



  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    Posts
    239
    Migius - there is a thread on FreeCAD forum that might be an interest for your CAD developing:

    https://sourceforge.net/apps/phpbb/f...140&p=787#p787

    I also mentioned there your post here.

    best - Adrian



  7. #7
    Member migius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    817
    hi all, sorry for delay, i am busy on blender conference now, the CADtools presentation today evening needs still some preparation. (just listening Stani performance...)
    migius



  8. #8
    Member migius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    817
    @studioa: thank you for pointing me to FreeCAD thread, actually i didn't know about Yorik's recent progress.

    @Kai: yes, i've been speaking at blender conference on Friday evening. It was quite funny, because the first 10 min of presentation i was fighting with Blender trying to get script running.



  9. #9
    Member migius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    817
    evaluation version 0.40 alpha - 2009.12.13 is out, see first post



  10. #10
    Member migius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    817
    evaluation version 0.40 alpha - 2009.12.13 is out, see first post



  11. #11
    Is there anything to test NOW..... or you're looking for paid tests too?



  12. #12
    Member migius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    817
    Originally Posted by Abidos View Post
    Is there anything to test NOW..... or you're looking for paid tests too?
    i'm afraid i don't understand your sentence, sorry. What are paid tests?

    You can get the script and use it for free.
    Feedback and donations are welcome but not a must.



  13. #13
    Sorry, but can you supply a direct link for downloading the script? I was really NOT able to find it in the site you point out.......

    I dont mind the donation... it's not the point! But I am much more interested if your script really overcomes Blender restrictions (see my posting in this thread). CAD functionality in Blender is a pain for me too... although I dont really need reaching professional goals in that area but just for having a nice support of some hard calculation I'd like to perform using Blender..... Therefore, I'd be happy to see that you succeeded



  14. #14
    Member migius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    817
    Originally Posted by Abidos View Post
    Sorry, but can you supply a direct link for downloading the script? I was really NOT able to find it in the site you point out....
    You will get your copy after registration. Details on the homepage.

    ... I am much more interested if your script really overcomes Blender restrictions (see my posting in this thread).
    no, unfortunately not in your sense.
    CADtools works within Blender environment with all its limitations. My goal is to create CAD editor suitable for architectural projects - means effective precision 0.001[m]. It is on the level of Archicad than of Autocad.



  15. #15
    Member PapaSmurf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Southeast USA
    Posts
    8,812
    wooot! congratulations.



  16. #16
    @ migius - Hum, well, ok...... Hope your tool works nicely for the purpose!

    What I mean saying "Blender is not appropriate for CAD issues" is not only that one is hard to display dimentions as a technical text but also Blender's imprecision in working with floats.Due to this, almost all algorythms that are of difficultly N, in order to deal correctly with their tasks in Blender, become 2*N or 3*N or even N*N....... My typical example of this situation is the checking if a plane (quad) is planar or non-planar. Mathematically, you need to compare a value with 0 but in Blender you should use + threshold to - threshold interval. This already makes a set of planes which you need to accept as being planat, while practically they are NOT. The problem is that one is NOT able to say if this is due to your quad (face) being really non-planar or due to Blender's wierd treatment of floats!!! Should you need to test for collision, you make thresholds on X, Y and Z and the algorythm speed goes to hell... Should you like to test if a point is inside or outside a 2D or 3D figure - the situation is the same! And so on, and so on.....

    Some adjacent faces being planar is important in technical drawings.... It is important in archi-drawings too. Some adjacent faces that you calculate to be planar, may look bad as if it is a reflective surface one may clearly see different reflections in the different parts of the compound surface. Even at precision of about 0.001 this negative effect may appear. Hope that you were able to cope with that though!

    Regards,



  17. #17
    Member migius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    817
    Originally Posted by Abidos View Post
    What I mean saying "Blender is not appropriate for CAD issues" is not only that one is hard to display dimentions as a technical text but also Blender's imprecision in working with floats.Due to this, almost all algorythms that are of difficultly N, in order to deal correctly with their tasks in Blender, become 2*N or 3*N or even N*N...
    i am aware about this, so i am very careful by writing code. I am always trying to find difficultly-N-algorithms. For sensitive places I write extra verify/correct routines. These routines are also helpful by correcting "buggy" models/drawings from outside: e.g. by "almost correct"-parallel/perpendicular/planar parts.



  18. #18
    Member migius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    817

    0.40 alpha - 2009.12.15

    update to 0.40 alpha - 2009.12.15:
    - bugfix for SELECT routine: not all selected vertices go to Selection-Set

    Note:
    "date" in version number is significant
    "main number" will change only by bigger modifications
    "alpha" means: not all functionality is implemented, many things in UI and work-flow can/will change.



  19. #19
    Member migius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    817
    update to 0.40 alpha - 2009.12.16:
    - added vertical UI-layout



  20. #20
    Member migius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    817
    texts on project homepage updated



Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •