Page 11 of 13 FirstFirst ... 910111213 LastLast
Results 201 to 220 of 251
  1. #201
    Member jedihe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Bogota, Colombia
    Posts
    62
    Originally Posted by 3pointEdit View Post
    I see that screencast tools only appear over 3D scene, but I would like to use it in the VSE. I made a null 3D view to show the keys. However the addon seems delayed on showing the key activity. So that after pressing G a few times I will get a display like "G x 3". Does this mean that the script cannot read or display the key activity in other windows?
    The code is designed explicitly to be used only in the 3D View; it's also possible to show it on another editor, but requires a few adjustments by hand.

    The "delayed" activity on the 3D View is because when working on another editor, the 3D View does not get refreshed automatically (or as often as when working on the 3D View).
    Check out my book: http://bit.ly/b25hotshot



  2. #202
    Member 3pointEdit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    8,769
    Oh I see thankyou for explaining that.
    Cheers, David ___________"awesome in space and other places".
    ________Follow me on twitter @3pointedit
    _____________ Check the Youtube Channel for tutorials. Or my Sketchbook



  3. #203
    Member macouno's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    netherlands
    Posts
    2,731
    Hi guys,

    Great work on this script! It's come a long way and is very usefull!

    Like Jonathan & zelif also mentioned... I too would love it if I could have the script active by default! Is there a way to do that?



  4. #204
    Member 3pointEdit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    8,769
    Tick active and save as default in 2.66 versions and later.
    Cheers, David ___________"awesome in space and other places".
    ________Follow me on twitter @3pointedit
    _____________ Check the Youtube Channel for tutorials. Or my Sketchbook



  5. #205
    Member macouno's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    netherlands
    Posts
    2,731
    Hey thanks for the response... I don't see any option to "tick active"?



  6. #206
    Member 3pointEdit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    8,769
    It is the little square on the right side of the description. See below, enable addon:
    blender_nifscript_enable_addon.jpg
    Cheers, David ___________"awesome in space and other places".
    ________Follow me on twitter @3pointedit
    _____________ Check the Youtube Channel for tutorials. Or my Sketchbook



  7. #207
    Member macouno's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    netherlands
    Posts
    2,731
    Ah I'm sorry... I'm afraid you misunderstood what I meant by "active"... I have it "enabled" like in your screenshot... but I would like to have it already running when I open blender so I don't have to Shift+Alt+C to "activate it". I would like to always see the screencast!



  8. #208
    Member andrewprice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    1,454
    Hey I'm not sure if this has been reported already, but is anyone else getting the INBETWEEN_MOUSEMOVE?


    It occurs when you press a key at the same time your mouse is moving. So it pops up quite a lot.

    It's a rather distracting bug, so I was wondering if this could be fixed?

    Thanks again for this awesome script. It's a big help for people learning blender
    Last edited by andrewprice; 23-Mar-13 at 01:50.



  9. #209
    Is it doing that without any prompting, i.e. you're not doing anything that would otherwise cause it?

    [EDIT] NVM, didn't see the stuff under the image (/*me needs more coffee!)

    [EDIT II] Odd, I get a different 'issue' when doing the above to repeat that problem, input text will scroll right up the screen when moving the mouse for any length of time. Does this with *any* key+mouse move.

    Last edited by kat-II; 23-Mar-13 at 06:32. Reason: additional info



  10. #210
    Member venomgfx's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Patagonia
    Posts
    351
    Originally Posted by andrewprice View Post
    Hey I'm not sure if this has been reported already, but is anyone else getting the INBETWEEN_MOUSEMOVE?


    It occurs when you press a key at the same time your mouse is moving. So it pops up quite a lot.

    It's a rather distracting bug, so I was wondering if this could be fixed?

    Thanks again for this awesome script. It's a big help for people learning blender
    Yeah that was super annoying, just fixed it on SVN. Update!

    Edit: Also fixed kat-II's case, which happened when mouse icon was disabled, didn't notice before.
    Last edited by venomgfx; 23-Mar-13 at 13:10.
    Pablo Vázquez
    CG Artist - Blender Foundation Certified Trainer
    PabloVazquez.org | Blender Network | Twitter | Facebook



  11. #211
    Originally Posted by venomgfx View Post
    Yeah that was super annoying, just fixed it on SVN. Update!
    Thanks for the insanely quick fix! One more win for open source!



  12. #212
    Originally Posted by venomgfx View Post
    Edit: Also fixed kat-II's case, which happened when mouse icon was disabled, didn't notice before.
    Cheers matey!



  13. #213
    Member andrewprice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    1,454
    Originally Posted by venomgfx View Post
    Yeah that was super annoying, just fixed it on SVN. Update!
    Thanks so much Pablo! I really didn't expect such a fast fix. You're awesome man
    I'm downloading the SVN now.

    Cheers



  14. #214
    I am not seeing any secondary presses on the keycast add on for example: G X 2 only shows the G and not the orientation and number. I am using 2.68 on a Mac.
    I see no others mentioning it so wonder if its only me.



  15. #215
    Member venomgfx's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Patagonia
    Posts
    351
    Originally Posted by MarkBTomlinson View Post
    I am not seeing any secondary presses on the keycast add on for example: G X 2 only shows the G and not the orientation and number. I am using 2.68 on a Mac.
    I see no others mentioning it so wonder if its only me.
    Hi MarkBTomlinson,

    It is a known limitation of Blender's event system actually, not the addon itself. When talked about this with the devs we always get to the conclusion that Blender should have its own built-in pressed-keys display, and handle all the possible cases internally. But this needs to be worked more deeply on a window level, very close to the event system, so to be done properly is not a fast thing to do as far as I understand.

    Perhaps having a nice screencast keys built-in, together with other typical tutorial tools and tighten the connection of tools with the online documentation (or even just fill the rna wiki reference file : ) could be a nice summer of code project for the future.
    Pablo Vázquez
    CG Artist - Blender Foundation Certified Trainer
    PabloVazquez.org | Blender Network | Twitter | Facebook



  16. #216
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    California
    Posts
    2,185
    I love this addon. I just cannot see why more "tutorial writer"(video recording addicts) do not make use of it. On another topic the ability to display text in the 3dviewport would be a great addition to the layer manager addon. I have left a comment in that tread to the effect but now response yet.
    At some point in life you stop being the man you are and start being the man you always wanted to be. ------ Bruce Springsteen.



  17. #217
    Member Leon Cheung's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    China
    Posts
    321
    Hi, I recently met a sorf of "update" issue, please see this video: http://youtu.be/VZ270pFtsw0
    I hope I've made myself understood. FYI. Thanks!



  18. #218
    Member jedihe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Bogota, Colombia
    Posts
    62
    Originally Posted by Leon Cheung View Post
    Hi, I recently met a sorf of "update" issue, please see this video: http://youtu.be/VZ270pFtsw0
    I hope I've made myself understood. FYI. Thanks!
    The code is designed to work on the 3D View only; I found a way to get events from other windows to get the 3D View refreshing (in an older version), but that was very hackish - at least the way I did it. What you see about some events being shown must be some kind of unexpected side-effect.
    Check out my book: http://bit.ly/b25hotshot



  19. #219
    Member Leon Cheung's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    China
    Posts
    321
    Originally Posted by jedihe View Post
    The code is designed to work on the 3D View only; I found a way to get events from other windows to get the 3D View refreshing (in an older version), but that was very hackish - at least the way I did it. What you see about some events being shown must be some kind of unexpected side-effect.
    Hi jedihe, it sounds interesting. Actually, I think "only refresh in 3D view" would be OK, but my problem is that it seems not refresh well, in some cases, while it really works well if re-activate it after switching the editor windows, and that's what makes it a bit odd. I just hope it could possibly be fixed or improved.



  20. #220

    please help me for my custom menu

    ok so if i wanted to create a menu button for screencast keys like that of the video that follows: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pim5YIfWv-M the problem is that what I've done isn't activating screencast keys.
    how would i do that? here's what i am trying to do so far:

    code:
    import bpy


    ##creates a menu for the 3d view
    class customMenu(bpy.types.Menu):
    bl_label = "custom Menu"
    bl_idname = "view3.custom_menu"

    Q##set the menu operators and draw functions
    def draw(self, context):
    layout = self.layout

    layout.operator("object.text_add")
    layout.operator("object.camera_add")
    layout.operator("view3D.screencast_keys")

    def register():
    bpy.utils.register_class(customMenu)
    ##bpy.ops.wm.call_menu(name=customMenu.bl_idname)


    def unregister():
    bpy.utils.unregister_class(customMenu)

    if __name__ == '__main__':
    register()



Page 11 of 13 FirstFirst ... 910111213 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •