Page 1 of 21 12311 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 414
  1. #1

    3Delight/Blender

    Hello,

    maybe you have noticed great news bout Matt Ebb’s new addon. 3Delight external render engine exporter for Blender 2.5. More details here:
    http://www.blendernation.com/2011/02...elightblender/
    http://mke3.net/3delightblender/
    http://www.3delight.com/en/

    3Delight is great and fast renderman compliant render. Used for example in Harry Potter or X-men films. Moreover it is free even for commercial use (with some little limitations).

    Unfortunately I have problems to apply addon and it (Windows 7). What are your experiences?



  2. #2
    Member Nichod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    400
    I had no luck getting it working in Windows 7 64 bit. Followed the directions to the letter. I'm going to try on my Macbook pro next. I know that's what Matt uses so it's possible it might work more reliably.
    --------------------
    Brian



  3. #3
    Member Pesho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Bulgaria
    Posts
    1,311
    Works fine here on WinXP. I haven't read up much on how to use it yet, but it looks pretty good. Would be even better if it were officially supported by the 3Delight folks!



  4. #4
    Member ristesekuloski's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Macedonia
    Posts
    1,366
    After updating it to 0.51, it works perfectly (Windows 7). Just follow the instructions, and everything will work fine



  5. #5
    Originally Posted by Pesho View Post
    Works fine here on WinXP. I haven't read up much on how to use it yet, but it looks pretty good. Would be even better if it were officially supported by the 3Delight folks!

    Can you tell me exactly what file in 3delight you have Blender directed to, I can't get it to work at all in xp (Matt Ebbs exporter) I dont know what file in the 3delight directory to have Blender Directed to for the render, I would appreciate if you could tell me. Thank you.



  6. #6
    I have the same problem ( a little note: in the lastest build from graphicall there is an import error at line 45 in __init__.py)



  7. #7
    Member almux's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    2,021
    MY first tests with 3Delight where rather painful (Pixels3d - all textures to redo), due to my lack of understanding of texturing arcanes... Now, i downloaded the 0.51 version and i should drop the render_3delight into a "Addons" folder. The only folder i can see within the Blender app. is "Plugins". Is "Addons" and "Plugins" the same, or have i to "create" a new folder, called "addon" or "addons", into the main Blender folder?
    ((Mac OS X 10.7.5, 2 x 3 Ghz Quad Xeon, 16 Go 667 Mhz DDR2 FB-DIMM, Radeon 6870 HD Asus. Mostly using FCS pro and Blender 2.6X)) This one: OUT OF ORDER!
    Computer in loan: Mac OS 10.8.5, 2 x 2.6Ghz Quad Xeon, 24 Go 1066 Mhz DDR3, Radeon 6870 HD Asus (from older).



  8. #8
    Member delic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lausanne, CH
    Posts
    975
    2.56/scripts ...

    Anyway cant get it work on xp64, cannot even enable the addon since recent builds.



  9. #9
    Member Pesho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Bulgaria
    Posts
    1,311
    Originally Posted by Zeropoint3d View Post
    Can you tell me exactly what file in 3delight you have Blender directed to, I can't get it to work at all in xp (Matt Ebbs exporter) I dont know what file in the 3delight directory to have Blender Directed to for the render, I would appreciate if you could tell me. Thank you.
    I installed 3delight with all the environment variables, so everything works automatically without the need to set paths manually. All i did was place the render_3delight folder inside 2.56\scripts\addons\. If it doesn't work, you could try to set the paths manually through the render panel in blender after you switch the renderer to 3Delight - there is a section called "Search paths" where you can set about 5 paths for program folder, renderer path, shader compiler etc.



  10. #10
    Member cekuhnen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Grosse Pointe Woods, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    11,958
    works fine here on OS X and I am excited to see how well he has implemented access to the engine.

    You still need to code the shades for custom models but that is a given with reyes engines anyway.
    3D Design Generalist - Faculty Industrial + Interior Design
    Chair Interior Design - Wayne State University



  11. #11
    Member kbot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    10,983
    I haven't tried this yet, but will get around to it at some stage.



  12. #12
    Originally Posted by delic View Post
    2.56/scripts ...

    Anyway cant get it work on xp64, cannot even enable the addon since recent builds.
    Same problem here (Win7 64bit)



  13. #13
    Member mib2berlin's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3,464
    I put it in 2.56/scripts/io and it appears in the render menu of blender 2.56a, actual svn don´t work.
    But I can´t get 3delight to work.

    Cheers mib
    OpenSUSE Leap 42.1/64 i5-3570K 16 GB Blender 2.7 Octane 3.03
    GTX 760 4 GB, GTX 670 2 GB Driver 375.26 | Blender for Octane



  14. #14
    The script was recently updated to 0.5.1 and that seemed to fix a lot of windows problems. Also I vaquely remember at least one version I downloaded had a 3delight folder inside a 3delight folder where there should only be one, i.e addons/3delight, and not addons/3delight/3delight. Also check the relevant threads, blender nation and matt's page as there is mention of the script only working with certain revisions of blender. I should add though that the script is very basic.
    Last edited by sx-1; 19-Feb-11 at 21:39.



  15. #15
    Member dono's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Paris France
    Posts
    123
    Hello ! I looks like very interesting Matt !

    the addon works for me (windows xp) with build r34626. But i have an error next:



    __________________________________________________ _
    export dir: C:\DOCUME~1\LOCALS~1\Temp\renderman
    Traceback (most recent call last):
    File “C:\1700_B~1.56_\2.56\scripts\addons\render_3delig ht\render.py”, line 166
    9, in render
    self._export(scene)
    File “C:\1700_B~1.56_\2.56\scripts\addons\render_3delig ht\render.py”, line 159
    3, in _export
    write_rib(self._paths, self._passinfo, scene, info_callback)
    File “C:\1700_B~1.56_\2.56\scripts\addons\render_3delig ht\render.py”, line 149
    6, in write_rib
    export_camera(file, scene, motion)
    File “C:\1700_B~1.56_\2.56\scripts\addons\render_3delig ht\render.py”, line 117
    8, in export_camera
    loc = mat.to_translation()
    AttributeError: ‘mathutils.Matrix’ object has no attribute ‘to_translation’
    location::-1
    location::-1
    __________________________________________
    Thanks for dev this addon Matt !!
    Cheers



  16. #16
    Originally Posted by dono View Post
    Hello ! I looks like very interesting Matt !

    the addon works for me (windows xp) with build r34626. But i have an error next:









    __________________________________________________ _
    export dir: C:\DOCUME~1\LOCALS~1\Temp\renderman
    Traceback (most recent call last):
    File “C:\1700_B~1.56_\2.56\scripts\addons\render_3delig ht\render.py”, line 166
    9, in render
    self._export(scene)
    File “C:\1700_B~1.56_\2.56\scripts\addons\render_3delig ht\render.py”, line 159
    3, in _export
    write_rib(self._paths, self._passinfo, scene, info_callback)
    File “C:\1700_B~1.56_\2.56\scripts\addons\render_3delig ht\render.py”, line 149
    6, in write_rib
    export_camera(file, scene, motion)
    File “C:\1700_B~1.56_\2.56\scripts\addons\render_3delig ht\render.py”, line 117
    8, in export_camera
    loc = mat.to_translation()
    AttributeError: ‘mathutils.Matrix’ object has no attribute ‘to_translation’
    location::-1
    location::-1
    __________________________________________
    Thanks for dev this addon Matt !!
    Cheers



    I get the same exact error and a black render screen : ( Apparently my reply is not long enough so I am typing this (Please Disregard)



  17. #17
    i wonder how many people read the readme included in the archive ?



  18. #18
    Member almux's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    2,021

    Creating new folders, then?

    Originally Posted by Pesho View Post
    I installed 3delight with all the environment variables, so everything works automatically without the need to set paths manually. All i did was place the render_3delight folder inside 2.56\scripts\addons\. If it doesn't work, you could try to set the paths manually through the render panel in blender after you switch the renderer to 3Delight - there is a section called "Search paths" where you can set about 5 paths for program folder, renderer path, shader compiler etc.
    Ok. So when opening the 2.55 or 2.56 folder of the builds i use, there is only a "plugins" folder. Following what you write, may i just add an new empty "scripts" folder on the first Blender level and then, inside this "scripts" folder add an "addons" folder to drop the 3Delight file? (Would be blender>scripts>addons>render_3delight)...
    ((Mac OS X 10.7.5, 2 x 3 Ghz Quad Xeon, 16 Go 667 Mhz DDR2 FB-DIMM, Radeon 6870 HD Asus. Mostly using FCS pro and Blender 2.6X)) This one: OUT OF ORDER!
    Computer in loan: Mac OS 10.8.5, 2 x 2.6Ghz Quad Xeon, 24 Go 1066 Mhz DDR3, Radeon 6870 HD Asus (from older).



  19. #19
    Member Pesho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Bulgaria
    Posts
    1,311
    Originally Posted by almux View Post
    Ok. So when opening the 2.55 or 2.56 folder of the builds i use, there is only a "plugins" folder. Following what you write, may i just add an new empty "scripts" folder on the first Blender level and then, inside this "scripts" folder add an "addons" folder to drop the 3Delight file? (Would be blender>scripts>addons>render_3delight)...
    Ok, that's weird - why would these folders be missing? It's where all the .py files for the UI are located, not to mention a lot of other important stuff that blender shouldn't work without them... Also you can't really use 2.55 or 2.56a with the plugin, you need one of the latest graphicall builds (newer than r34664), otherwise it wont work!

    Try downloading a graphicall build and extracting somewhere - the folders should be in their respectful places.

    For the record, im using r34694
    Last edited by Pesho; 20-Feb-11 at 05:52.



  20. #20
    Originally Posted by almux View Post
    Ok. So when opening the 2.55 or 2.56 folder of the builds i use, there is only a "plugins" folder. Following what you write, may i just add an new empty "scripts" folder on the first Blender level and then, inside this "scripts" folder add an "addons" folder to drop the 3Delight file? (Would be blender>scripts>addons>render_3delight)...
    As you are on a Mac, the scripts folder is in the blender.app itself. Just show its package contents and go to the Contents/MacOS/2.56/scripts folder.



Page 1 of 21 12311 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •