Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 73
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    242

    IvyGen: Generating Ivy in Blender (Updated 2 Aug 2011)

    Introduction
    Here is an addon for Blender which generates ivy on objects. It is a port of the well known standalone program Ivy Generator (http://graphics.uni-konstanz.de/~luft/ivy_generator/) which has been made with the permission of the original author Thomas Luft. It is also a continuation of the efforts of Blender users testscreenings and PKHG.

    Download Location
    https://svn.blender.org/svnroot/bf-e...urve_ivygen.py
    Right click and 'Save As'

    Requirements
    In order to use this script a build of Blender after r38676 is required.

    Alternatively, a build of Blender after r38855 includes IvyGen by default.

    Usage

    1. Download the file under "Download Location" and place it in your add on folder.
    2. Enable the addon through User Preferences.
    3. Place the 3D cursor where the Ivy should start growing.
    4. Select the object to grow ivy on.
    5. Select Add -> Curve -> Add Ivy in the main menu.
    6. Ivy parameters appear in the Tool Shelf (T-KEY).
    7. Change any ivy properties.
    8. To see your changes take effect, click "Update Ivy".

    Examples
    suzanneTest.jpg

    arrayTest.jpg

    Cheers,
    Truman
    Last edited by TrumanBlending; 02-Aug-11 at 06:11. Reason: Updated for new version



  2. #2
    Member Meta-Androcto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    australia
    Posts
    4,008
    Hey truman!
    This is an amazing script.
    Thank you so much for all the hard work.



  3. #3
    Many thanks for the adaption - no more imports/exports for generating trees and now for ivy as well!

    You rock dude!
    I wonder if he'll ever realize we gave him an "Etch-A-Sketch" (Dilbert comic)



  4. #4

    Error

    Traceback (most recent call last):
    File "J:\000.DOCUMENT\Downloads\blender-2.58-windows64\2.58\scripts\addons\add_curve_ivygen.py" , line 534, in execute
    IVY.grow(radius, ob)
    File "J:\000.DOCUMENT\Downloads\blender-2.58-windows64\2.58\scripts\addons\add_curve_ivygen.py" , line 312, in grow
    local_maxAdhesionDistance)
    File "J:\000.DOCUMENT\Downloads\blender-2.58-windows64\2.58\scripts\addons\add_curve_ivygen.py" , line 390, in adhesion
    nearest_result = ob.closest_point_on_mesh(loc)
    AttributeError: 'Object' object has no attribute 'closest_point_on_mesh'

    location:<unknown location>:-1

    Where dir i put the ivyGenerator.exe ? it still need or not



  5. #5
    Originally Posted by udeystar View Post
    nearest_result = ob.closest_point_on_mesh(loc)
    AttributeError: 'Object' object has no attribute 'closest_point_on_mesh'
    location:<unknown location>
    This is an error message I got as well- but hey, it is Beta.

    @ TrumanBlending

    The python-API documention seems not to have any description about any property "closest_point_on_mesh()".
    Are you using a different built than the standard 2.58a?
    Last edited by Ulf B.; 20-Jul-11 at 06:02.
    I wonder if he'll ever realize we gave him an "Etch-A-Sketch" (Dilbert comic)



  6. #6
    Member DrBouvierLeduc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    france
    Posts
    169
    TrumanBlending, you're my hero !
    Having ivygenerator directly within blender is really usefull, even more provided the original program doesn't work anymore (at least for me, on linux).



  7. #7
    Member Atom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    11,632
    I get that same error mentioned above using 2.58 r38446 32bit Windows XP64.

    In a new scene I deleted the cube and added a Text object. I typed the word "Ivy". I extruded the text and then converted it to a mesh.
    I rarely use Blender anymore.
    Houdini Indie is only $200.00 and Apprentice is free!
    Atom's Links Page



  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    242
    Hi All,

    Apologies for the confusion, I should have stated that you require a build after r38449 to use this script. closest_point_on_mesh() was added at that revision.

    Cheers,
    Truman



  9. #9
    Member Atom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    11,632
    I pulled down the latest build r38533 and the script does run, but using the default settings that pop up seems to produce an infinite loop. It has been running for over an hour and still has produced no results.

    What are some "good" settings to use for quick results?

    PS: The pop up is annoying feature. So I put my settings in and then go to the bottom of the popup to click the Ok button and I missed with the mouse and the popup disappeared. Sure enough, when I run it again I have to put my settings in all over again. This script would benefit from having all those parameters in the Tools panel like traditional scripts. IMHO.
    Last edited by Atom; 20-Jul-11 at 11:41.
    I rarely use Blender anymore.
    Houdini Indie is only $200.00 and Apprentice is free!
    Atom's Links Page



  10. #10
    r38492 64 bit
    Win7 x64
    I also get the infinite loop.

    Allen



  11. #11
    Member PKHG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    NL
    Posts
    1,928
    Me too,
    Yes, we are looking for it , so wait some time, will be removed ...
    Peter



  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    242
    Hi All,

    Thanks for the feedback and an update has been made to hopefully fix this. I believe the infinite loop problems were most likely caused by the starting point being too far from the surface or exactly on the surface. Let me know if the update helps. Also please note that "Gravity Weight" should not be set to 0. This will be fixed soon.

    Cheers,
    Truman



  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    242
    Here's a fantastic image from mfoxdogg:

    ivy_test3.jpg

    Cheers,
    Truman



  14. #14
    Member PKHG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    NL
    Posts
    1,928
    And here with the latest version generated:



  15. #15
    Member DrBouvierLeduc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    france
    Posts
    169
    Not sure if this is a bug : when I launch this addon via the search panel -> IvyGen, the popup appears, but when I click "ok" nothing happens.
    When I use add -> curve -> Ivy, it works fine though.



  16. #16
    Member Atom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    11,632
    Ah!

    The 3D Cursor controls the starting point. I missed that. Now I am getting output.

    Presets would be nice. Like how do I make a longer, less dense ivy that will render quickly?
    Attached Images Attached Images
    I rarely use Blender anymore.
    Houdini Indie is only $200.00 and Apprentice is free!
    Atom's Links Page



  17. #17
    Member PKHG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    NL
    Posts
    1,928
    Investigating ourself!
    The basis is not from truman or pkhg, only 'adjusted' to the newest version

    Here is 'my' test version https://svn.blender.org/svnroot/bf-e...ygen/pkhg_ivy/
    With menu panel in the toolshelf of View3D to see effects of changing parameters! (and a time limitation is build in to prevent an infinite loop)
    EDIT
    Still available but use the link TrumanBlending refers to (22-7-2011), is THE version.
    Last edited by PKHG; 22-Jul-11 at 04:56. Reason: toolshelf !



  18. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    242
    Hi all,

    After some extensive changes, version 0.0.2 is now available. See the first post for download link. Changes include:

    1. Correct checking for ivy continued growth
    2. The addition of a panel to change properties and a button to grow the ivy
    3. Notifications in the console of generation progress
    4. Faster leaf generation
    5. Different defaults for (hopefully) faster generation

    Cheers,
    Truman



  19. #19
    Member Atom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    11,632
    Version 0.02 seems to have some problems. I pulled the script down and pasted it into a text window. When I run the script it no longer appears in the View 3D/Add/Curves menu, like the previous version did. So I pressed space bar and typed 'ivy' in the search box and it did show up. I assume as an operator because when I clicked on it in the search box it simply ran without offering up any chance to change or set parameters.
    I rarely use Blender anymore.
    Houdini Indie is only $200.00 and Apprentice is free!
    Atom's Links Page



  20. #20
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    242
    Atom,

    My apologies for not updating the instructions for using the script. Please see the first post for updated steps.

    Cheers,
    Truman



Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •