Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 41 to 60 of 72
  1. #41
    Nice but whats the diff between the pics?



  2. #42
    Member martinsh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    riga, latvia
    Posts
    770
    Hi, I am a little busy right now, but I will try to finish the shader and make a new thread about it. I will add also a support for spot lights. The shader is actually simple enough to be hardcoded in Blender itself. It would be nice to make the lamp make a halo when you enable it in lamp settings.
    Tony - casting the glow from textures is much more complicated task and could be done with simpler method. Also casting shadows from the glow is GPU intensive task and requires much more code, but it is not impossible.
    Last edited by martinsh; 19-Dec-11 at 14:37.



  3. #43
    Member martinsh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    riga, latvia
    Posts
    770
    here is a new update on the depth of field shader.
    changes:
    • again totally redone the depth of field calculation with 2 possible options:

    - Physically accurate DoF simulation calculated from "focalDepth" ,"focalLength", "f-stop" and "CoC" parameters.
    - Manual - artist controlled DoF simulation calculated only from "focalDepth" and individual controls for near and far blur planes.

    • added "circe of confusion" (CoC) parameter in mm to accurately simulate DoF with different camera sensor or film sizes.
    • optical lens vignetting factor based on f-stop value and user defined properties.
    • cleaned up the code
    • some optimization

    Shader is HERE
    and new blend HERE
    Last edited by martinsh; 19-Dec-11 at 16:20.



  4. #44
    Member TonyPowell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Posts
    228
    Originally Posted by martinsh View Post
    Hi, I am a little busy right now, but I will try to finish the shader and make a new thread about it. I will add also a support for spot lights. The shader is actually simple enough to be hardcoded in Blender itself. It would be nice to make the lamp make a halo when you enable it in lamp settings.
    Tony - casting the glow from textures is much more complicated task and could be done with simpler method. Also casting shadows from the glow is GPU intensive task and requires much more code, but it is not impossible.

    Hey hey Bro! Thanks for gettin back to me. ah i see so it would be complex to cast light from a texture, would you be able to point me in the right direction to where i can find out how to do the simpler method of casting a glow from a texture, does it have something to do with the emitting option for the textures?, if so then i see where ur coming from n it'd no problem to get that workin'. Lookin forward to seein the new improvements on the light casting, this is a feature that greatly impressed me when you first posted itm hahahaha had fevered dreams of using that shader in my game some how hahahahahahaha the spotlight idea would be pretty awesome addition to it as well, thanks so much for all your work bro, and for your speed in which you get it workin! you the man!!
    Last edited by TonyPowell; 19-Dec-11 at 20:27.



  5. #45
    Member martinsh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    riga, latvia
    Posts
    770
    Tony - the best and most efficient way to cast glow from textures ing games would be using emissive maps, like this:
    there is also tutorial on this here:
    http://salvador.mata.com.mx/blog/2011/10/emissive-maps/



  6. #46
    Member TonyPowell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Posts
    228
    Haha cool beans bro thanks for you help! ill be lookin into this real soon!



  7. #47
    Hey martinsh,

    Sorry im writing you here but your PM mailbox appears to be full and not accepting any messages...

    I have question for you: Can you think of any reasonable way to do the reflections in BGE (2.49 or 2.5-2.6 dont matter) that would be relatively accurate yet would not hog too many resources.

    Its for my project (see BGE works in progress thread) and I wanted to do the mutiple reflections (infinity mirror style).

    I tried videotexture method (rather slow and inacurate) so I was thinking that maybe some kind of static method would work?

    But it there any other method that I have not considered maybe ?!?

    I know you did some impressive work in this area so can you suggest anything?

    Thank you for your time.



  8. #48
    Member martinsh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    riga, latvia
    Posts
    770
    Hi aleksig6,
    For real and efficient reflecting and refracting surfaces we will have to wait for rendering improvements from Harmony branch. Infinity mirror can be achieved right now only with Videotexture and yeah it is quite slow.



  9. #49
    Thanks, martinsh. Thats what I thought.

    One more question though: If I were to pre-bake textures with all reflections and shadows (very static and inaccurate scene is there any way I can somehow fix paralax effect so I can at least move camera around? Maybe some switching texture method or some script correction for the camera.

    Any suggestion will be really appreciated.

    P.S. The only other method that I'm considereing for now is the static scene with prerendered textures+shadows and relfections + static camera ( a static 360 panorama basically) but like i said it would've been nice to be able to at least move a camera around the static scene)
    Last edited by aleksig6; 26-Dec-11 at 18:16. Reason: stuff



  10. #50
    Can you please upload the files to say, media fire or the forum download widget? Because all my macbook pro gets is a text file with a whole heap of special characters.



  11. #51
    is it dropping the file extension? or perhaps not recognising it?

    ws



  12. #52
    Member leonnn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Brazil - PR - Maringá
    Posts
    2,554
    I just got the 2.4 version and its sooo beautiful, I m really amazed with it, thanks a lot martinsh, thanks a lot!
    Intel 486
    64 mb RAM/128 mg HD
    Graphic card Voodoo 122



  13. #53
    Member Matt_Goles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Ontario, Canada eh!
    Posts
    699
    Originally Posted by suctioncup View Post
    Can you please upload the files to say, media fire or the forum download widget? Because all my macbook pro gets is a text file with a whole heap of special characters.
    With those files just go right mouse button -> save as, they're direct .blend files and not links
    My name is Matt... and I'm a blendaholic....
    Youtube: http://www.youtube.com/user/TimedropStudios
    Website: www.timedropstudios.com



  14. #54
    mine works but it blurry up close and clear far off...mines working backwards what am i doing wrong?



  15. #55
    Member red566's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    aus
    Posts
    233
    2.5/2.6 update?



  16. #56
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    1,443
    The shader is working on Blender 2.5x and Blender 2.6x.



  17. #57
    Originally Posted by red566 View Post
    2.5/2.6 update?
    Yeah, like HG1 said, it works. You have to press 1 to enable the shader, then left-click to place the focus point around the environment.

    @martinsh - By the way, this is awesome!



  18. #58
    Member 3dmedieval's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    4,199
    Works beautifully, Nvidia gtx560. Yes, press 1, then left click. The red dot is the focal point. You can drive around the scene with "wasd" and keep the left mouse pressed.



  19. #59
    Member leonnn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Brazil - PR - Maringá
    Posts
    2,554
    I tried to use this shader on my new project, but I got a problem, it looks like that a stripe appears over bright areas, its weird and I dont know how to fix it, anyone have an idea about how to fix it?
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Intel 486
    64 mb RAM/128 mg HD
    Graphic card Voodoo 122



  20. #60
    I'm an artist working on 0 A.D. (an open-source real-time strategy set in ancient times). Would it be okay for us to use your shader in the game? Here's what it looks like with the shader:

    FDCQJ.jpg

    Also, any idea what's the lines on the edges of the fully-focused area? (I'm using manual focus, not focal length, if it matters)



Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •