Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 40

Thread: Initiative to build cycles cuda kernel for older GFX cards

  1. #1
    Member mib2berlin's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3,495

    Initiative to build cycles cuda kernel for older GFX cards

    Hi, as blender 2.61 not support older gfx card many people have problems to run cycles on the gpu in the future (rev. 42 573).
    I would like to start upload kernel for linux 64 for "Cuda Compute Capability" 1.0, 1.1 and 1.2.
    You find your card here:

    http://developer.nvidia.com/cuda-gpus

    As the kernel are small i put all in on 7z file at graphicall.org later.
    For now i put it on my dropbox account:

    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/14100104/lib.7z

    You have to copy the kernels in to > /2.60/scripts/addons/cycles/lib
    It would be nice if builder from other systems like osx and windows do the same.

    Cheers, mib.
    OpenSUSE Leap 42.1/64 i5-3570K 16 GB Blender 2.7 Octane 3.03
    GTX 760 4 GB, GTX 670 2 GB Driver 375.26 | Blender for Octane



  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    2,367
    Good ol' Blender community, thx mib



  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    USA/Germany
    Posts
    193

    So how do you make this work?

    I added the lib 1.1 for my 8600 GT and when I turn on GPU it just says I must have 1,1 or later but detected 1.0 and will not run. It works fine with CPU though.



  4. #4
    Member mib2berlin's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3,495
    Hm, have you test with 1.0, i canīt test because i have a 1.3 card. We need more input witch card realy work and witch not.
    If i build for myself the compiler put the kernel in /home/username/.blender/2.60/cache
    Please try and report.

    Cheers, mib.
    OpenSUSE Leap 42.1/64 i5-3570K 16 GB Blender 2.7 Octane 3.03
    GTX 760 4 GB, GTX 670 2 GB Driver 375.26 | Blender for Octane



  5. #5
    Member DingTo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Southern Germany
    Posts
    1,626
    @magic.crow: Your error sounds more like OpenCL ;-)
    We are talking about CUDA in this thread.
    Blender developer (Cycles / User Interface)
    Blog -- Blender Podcast -- OpenShading -- BlenderDay -- Blender Network profile



  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    USA/Germany
    Posts
    193

    What now?

    Dingto you are correct. I made that mistake but how do you turn on the CUDA render? Do I need a different Blender compile? I don't seem to have that setting now but I remember having it in the past.



  7. #7
    Member afalldorf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    373
    Originally Posted by magick.crow View Post
    Dingto you are correct. I made that mistake but how do you turn on the CUDA render? Do I need a different Blender compile? I don't seem to have that setting now but I remember having it in the past.
    Make sure you have an Nvidia card of course, then make sure experimental is turned on in the render settings, it will then give you an option of either CUDA or OpenCL when GPU is selected.
    System Specs:
    ________________________________________________
    AMD Phenom II x6 1100 Overclocked 4.2GHz, 12GB DDR3, ASUS HD6950 DirectCUII (x2) Crossfire



  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    USA/Germany
    Posts
    193

    nope

    afalldorf

    Make sure you have an Nvidia card of course.

    Got that.

    then make sure experimental is turned on in the render settings,

    Did that too.

    it will then give you an option of either CUDA or OpenCL when GPU is selected.

    Sadly it does not. I get OpenCL and nothing else, thus my question. What version of Blender do I need? I have 64bit Ubuntu 2.60.7 r42503



  9. #9
    Member mib2berlin's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3,495
    hi magick.crow, may try the rc1 build:

    http://download.blender.org/release/Blender2.61/

    There are the other kernels in /cycles/lib copy my kernels to this location, if this not work i can give up to build kernels for older cards :-|

    Cheers, mib.
    OpenSUSE Leap 42.1/64 i5-3570K 16 GB Blender 2.7 Octane 3.03
    GTX 760 4 GB, GTX 670 2 GB Driver 375.26 | Blender for Octane



  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    USA/Germany
    Posts
    193
    Originally Posted by mib2berlin View Post
    hi magick.crow, may try the rc1 build:

    http://download.blender.org/release/Blender2.61/

    There are the other kernels in /cycles/lib copy my kernels to this location, if this not work i can give up to build kernels for older cards :-|

    Cheers, mib.
    Don't give up!

    So I tried everything I could think off but there is never an option for picking cuda. I know that there was in the past but they seem to have turned it off. Maybe graphical has some build that has cuda turned on? I have not had time to check.



  11. #11
    Member mib2berlin's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3,495
    I got new info from #blendercoders:

    [12:00] <brecht> sergey-: it only works on < shader model 1.3 cards if you enable Experimental feature set
    So you have to set to "Experimental" and then "Cuda", hope it helps.

    Cheers, mip.
    OpenSUSE Leap 42.1/64 i5-3570K 16 GB Blender 2.7 Octane 3.03
    GTX 760 4 GB, GTX 670 2 GB Driver 375.26 | Blender for Octane



  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    USA/Germany
    Posts
    193
    That is the whole point/problem! There is no CUDA in the list only openCL.



  13. #13
    Hi mib, downloaded your kernels and put them in the correct folder but when hit F12 or switch to rendered view i get:

    Code:
    CUDA error: Invalid kernel image
    Failed loading CUDA kernel /home/alex/blender-2.61rc-linux-glibc27-x86_64/2.60/scripts/addons/cycles/lib/kernel_sm_12.cubin.
    I'm on ubuntu 11.10 64, nvidia 290.10, cuda toolkit installed and a geforce gt 240, so it should go with kernel_sm_12.. maybe it's the card not compatible with the kernel compiled on your machine..?



  14. #14
    Member mib2berlin's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3,495
    Hi all, i think the kernel must match the exact blender revision and we should wait for 2.61 release.
    I build kernels again with this revision and upload it.
    If this not work my little plan is stranded.
    It is only one or two days, cheers, mib.

    Edit: Ah , but you get cuda in the render settings and it should work with the correct kernel.
    Last edited by mib2berlin; 13-Dec-11 at 10:14.
    OpenSUSE Leap 42.1/64 i5-3570K 16 GB Blender 2.7 Octane 3.03
    GTX 760 4 GB, GTX 670 2 GB Driver 375.26 | Blender for Octane



  15. #15
    Originally Posted by mib2berlin View Post
    Hi all, i think the kernel must match the exact blender revision and we should wait for 2.61 release.
    I build kernels again with this revision and upload it.
    If this not work my little plan is stranded.
    It is only one or two days, cheers, mib.

    Edit: Ah , but you get cuda in the render settings and it should work with the correct kernel.
    yes, and i've discovered that kernels can be compiled runtime on Linux, yuhuu! So I deleted yours and compiled mine runtime and it works



  16. #16
    I'm still not clear on why my card supports shader model 4.1, and I have the latest drivers which say as much, but I get that device error when I use the official RC1 build. Is there something with Quadro FX cards vs GTX?



  17. #17
    Member mib2berlin's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3,495
    MitchJ, on official builds only "Cuda Compute Capability" 1.3 and up is supported you can look here for your card:

    http://developer.nvidia.com/cuda-gpus

    If not you have to install cuda toolkit on linux and osx to compile the kernel at first render, set Render settings to "Experimental" and then "Cuda".
    We have to wait until 2.61 is out, it includes also linux kernels 1.3 2.0 and 2.1.

    Mib
    OpenSUSE Leap 42.1/64 i5-3570K 16 GB Blender 2.7 Octane 3.03
    GTX 760 4 GB, GTX 670 2 GB Driver 375.26 | Blender for Octane



  18. #18
    Ah, great! Thanks for the quick response, mib2berlin

    Originally Posted by mib2berlin View Post
    MitchJ, on official builds only "Cuda Compute Capability" 1.3 and up is supported you can look here for your card:

    http://developer.nvidia.com/cuda-gpus

    If not you have to install cuda toolkit on linux and osx to compile the kernel at first render, set Render settings to "Experimental" and then "Cuda".
    We have to wait until 2.61 is out, it includes also linux kernels 1.3 2.0 and 2.1.

    Mib



  19. #19
    Tested with 9600 GT, works beautifully fast! Again, "Experimental", "GPU" and "Cuda", for those of you curious.

    Just wish the support for this card was available by default though.

    EDIT: Okay, so crashes are frequent. XD The application keeps shutting down.
    Last edited by tushantin; 18-Dec-11 at 07:08. Reason: Tested



  20. #20
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    2,263
    I am curious how is the performance of the GPU renderer on an older card like the 9600GT compare to that of a modest dual-core cpu?



Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •