Screen Layout Hotkeys

I’d like to bind a hotkey to each of the screen layouts specifically (Animation, Default, Compositing, UV Editing, etc.).

Ctrl-Right and Ctrl-Left are bound to screen.screen_set which seems to take a delta parameter. How can one set it to an absolute, either by number or name?

You should be able to change your hotkeys from the User Preferences window (Ctrl+Alt+U) And going into the input-tab. This tab will probably be confusing, as there are hundreds of settings here.
I can’t help you further, as I’m still new to Blender.

Right. The question remains, for this purpose, as to what to set them to.

I posted the solution in Python Support. Having spent the last 3 days and nights straight finally figuring it out, here it is:

• Paste the following script into the Text Editor window, which you may find in the “Game Logic” or “Scripting” screen layouts in the drop-down menu at the top of the screen. This will be the last time you’ll have to click on the fraggin’ thing with your mouse.
import bpy
class SetScreenLayout(bpy.types.Operator):
    """Switches to the screen layout of the given name."""
    bl_idname="screen.set_layout"
    bl_label="Switch to Screen Layout"
    layoutNamme=bpy.props.StringProperty()
    def execute(self,context):
        bpy.context.window.screen=bpy.data.screens[self.layoutNamme]
        return{'FINISHED'}
    def invoke(self,context,event):
        return self.execute(context)
bpy.utils.register_class(SetScreenLayout)
  • At the bottom, name it “SetScreenLayout.py” or anything else ending in “.py”.
  • Click the “Run Script” button on the bottom bar to apply it to this session. (You may have to scroll to the right of the bottom bar to find it.)
  • Check “Register” to the right of it, to have the operator available after restarting Blender.