Page 2 of 14 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 270

Thread: [UPDATED .bend]19 Billions of Polygons, not a ridiculous number anymore

  1. #21
    Beyond technicism, very beautiful images!



  2. #22
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    RO
    Posts
    772
    Please post you hardware specs



  3. #23
    Member Aaron Symons's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    England, UK
    Posts
    71
    Originally Posted by frigge View Post
    That's because the renderer does not deal with 19billion polygons. In fact it does only deal with 350k polys. Instancing means that the renderer needs to load the geometry only once into memory and then just checks 54 times for intersection each time with a different transformation applied.

    Btw @ Agus3D: your images really look awesome

    Ohh, sorry. I over-looked that part. :P

    I'll have to check out how to do that. Get some biggy scenes rocking away on my poor baby PC. Excellent!



  4. #24
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Dominican Republic
    Posts
    1,569
    I would like to see this much polygon count in blender viewports, softimage can handle this amount of polygonos and more in the viewport with the polygon core engine.



  5. #25
    BTW. I hope you don't mind if I use it as a wallpaper?
    What's on my workbench:
    Electric guitar



  6. #26
    Woah, stunning. It seems in the right hands everything is possible. Gorgeous images, really great work!
    Competition is great and fun for things like sports and games. For more serious matters cooperation might be a better approach.

    It is time - ecogood.org



  7. #27
    Member Lell's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    550
    Impressive! How much instances are important for that RAM results? Did you set some setting in blender to use so low memory? Could re-make the test with different types of trees?

    Thank you for the test!



  8. #28
    Member Agus3D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Buenos Aires
    Posts
    249
    Hi guys Thank you very much for your great responses, i upload the .blend file in the first post, so that will answer most of the questions!

    Originally Posted by gexwing View Post
    wow, truly amazing result!
    did you paint the maps for the distribution around the mountains from hand?
    one little criticism: i can spot a some trees growing sideways on the mountain, shouldn't they still grow "up", even on a slope?
    I write a tiny script to weight automatically a vertex group to be used for the particle system for the density.
    Yes the trees are pointing the normal of the surface, we always can make it better right!
    Originally Posted by Lell
    How much instances are important for that RAM results? Did you set some setting in blender to use so low memory? Could re-make the test with different types of trees?
    I predict that with 4Gbytes you could put more than 500K instances or perhaps a lot more! you could easily break the trillion polygon barrier, If you are willing to wait for the label "copying transformation to the device" i wonder if that could be optimized, because when it start to build the BVH in make it in a fraction of that time.
    Different tree? try yourself with the .blend file in the first post! And show us!

    Also one thing i would like to be fixed is the ability to instance the whole mesh it its particle system, so we could instance the entire island thousands of times and have trillions of polygons with no cost!
    Last edited by Agus3D; 22-Mar-12 at 15:45.



  9. #29
    Member GraphiX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Somewhere else
    Posts
    1,688
    Wow.... Stunning....
    "The world is in thought. Everything is still"



  10. #30
    Member 3dementia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    2,450
    Benchmark test: 16.37.47 on an I7 950 @ 3.07Ghz with 12.0 GB ram
    Using 32 bit latest build with bmesh from Graphicall.

    Next I'll test with GPU, have to update my drivers it seems.
    My Gallery | Website Design Services | Fandango WIP | Train-Toons WIP
    "The way to get started is to quit talking and begin doing." -Walt Disney



  11. #31
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    2,725
    Rendered in 3min 46 seconds on a GTX 580 =D



  12. #32
    Member Kemmler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,446
    dang, F***king decent result there. I need to start making use of instances. I am working on a scene that already uses >7GB of ram when rendering. I had to upgrade from 3 to 12GB just to keep working on it. D:



  13. #33
    Member 3dementia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    2,450
    Originally Posted by doublebishop View Post
    Rendered in 3min 46 seconds on a GTX 580 =D
    You beat me! Wow the GPU just tears through it. You can hear the poor thing crying in there though. For a second there, I thought the pc was going to levitate. :-)

    Mem:132.01M (267.04M, peak 401.92M) Time: 04:13:69
    on a GTX 480

    Going to have to do a full res one at higher samples now. Thanks for my new wallpaper, and the .blend

    I jumped on the GPU render bandwagon early with Octane, now it looks like Cycles is all grown up. :tear
    Last edited by 3dementia; 22-Mar-12 at 17:51.
    My Gallery | Website Design Services | Fandango WIP | Train-Toons WIP
    "The way to get started is to quit talking and begin doing." -Walt Disney



  14. #34
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    2,060
    03:20:54 on a GTX 570



  15. #35
    Ive used instances before, but I have a question regarding the similarity with children in the particle system. Are children the same as instanced object, where as only the parent is loaded into memory and the children are copies? Or is it just completely different?

    Could the particle system be used to produce results like this?



  16. #36
    Member m9105826's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Fairfax, VA
    Posts
    4,183
    A couple of questions:

    1.) Is there something special you have to do to get instancing to work? I have tried with tree scenes in the past where I either had the trees as instances or the leaves on a tree and I never got the "applying transformations" message and my mem usage was always MUCH higher for smaller scenes.

    2. I'd love to hear an explanation for some of the material node trees. When I looked at the material for "Land" I just started drooling because my mind was overloaded instantly with all of the less thans and dot products.



  17. #37
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    2,725
    Originally Posted by krixxuss View Post
    Ive used instances before, but I have a question regarding the similarity with children in the particle system. Are children the same as instanced object, where as only the parent is loaded into memory and the children are copies? Or is it just completely different?

    Could the particle system be used to produce results like this?
    It is using the particle system, using the Hair Subset, and replacing the hair folicals with objects inside a group

    Originally Posted by m9105826 View Post
    A couple of questions:

    1.) Is there something special you have to do to get instancing to work? I have tried with tree scenes in the past where I either had the trees as instances or the leaves on a tree and I never got the "applying transformations" message and my mem usage was always MUCH higher for smaller scenes.

    2. I'd love to hear an explanation for some of the material node trees. When I looked at the material for "Land" I just started drooling because my mind was overloaded instantly with all of the less thans and dot products.

    1) you get the applying transformations message whenever you use particle systems, maybe your just not using as many particles? in this blend file he is using 30 x 1800 = 32000 instances... each instance takes up a bit of memory, but only its location / rotation / scale... the actual object information is only stored once. Your memory usage may have been from other things in your scene such as texture sizes / toher objects etc.etc.



  18. #38
    Beautiful work.
    03:41:79 on my i7 Windows 7 8GB with GTX 560 ti



  19. #39
    Member BenDansie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Adelaide, AUS
    Posts
    2,488
    I knew it.
    <kaito> oohH!!hh!hh!!!19!BilliOBN!nnb!!



  20. #40
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    RO
    Posts
    772
    Laptop Ci7 1.6->2.1 GHz 8GB ram Windows 7 64bit

    CPU render time : 19:58:36 peak 407.79 M - no changes in settings

    Static BVH + all bounce setting to 1 no caustics + sample as lamp in environment tab ! let's see that rendered in linux !
    Last edited by reC; 23-Mar-12 at 06:18.



Page 2 of 14 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •