Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 75
  1. #1
    Member macouno's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    netherlands
    Posts
    2,731

    Blender Caliper for 2.6x

    Hi everyone!

    I'm excited to announce that the Blender Caliper measurement tool is ready for some intensive testing! Thanks everyone for your donations and help!

    caliper-screenshot.jpg

    Please go to the page linked here to download the script and read a bit about how to use it!
    http://www.macouno.com/2012/10/03/co...per-2-1-addon/

    The current version has been tested for Blender 2.63

    If you have any questions/ideas/requests, please post here!



  2. #2



  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Mendota, IL
    Posts
    160
    Glad to hear about the progress. I've always thought that Blender needed something like this.



  4. #4
    Member viralata's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Cordelle, France
    Posts
    163
    Thanks a lot. Glad to see it back. Just played a bit with it and found a very easy trick to have all the texts aligned: select the text, and in the constraint panel, change the track to constraint so that it points toward the camera.
    http://www.veroniquepopinet.com/ Photostories from my wife, photojournalist
    http://viralata.fr/en My professional site (still mostly in french ) about architecture and Blender
    http://chantierlibre.org Fablab near Roanne



  5. #5
    Member AlexDS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Romania (EU)
    Posts
    444
    coooool! it seems it is working alright, but in my opinion, to have a nice workflow, Caliper MUST:

    - snap to mouse coursor
    - rotate the dimension to different views: top, left, or whatever. Seems the Empty freezes the arrow and the dimension text

    IMHO, it's tedious to always specify the objects between caliper needs to work, specially when there are a lot of them. so, there should be 2 empties at the end of the dimension line, so i could snap it to different elements (like vertices, edges, not just object origins). So, for now, caliper is not so user friendly as it could be
    Last edited by AlexDS; 03-Oct-12 at 17:03.
    my portfolio / my website
    my system: Win 7; intel i5 750, 12 GB DDRAM3 , Geforce GTS 250



  6. #6
    Member macouno's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    netherlands
    Posts
    2,731
    Hi guys!

    Viralata, yeah that is exactly what I had in mind as well! Perhaps should make that a part of the final "help" page.

    AlexDS, What do you mean by "snap to mouse cursor"? Do you mean "snap to 3d cursor (the white and red one)"? If so... yes I want to add that as a feature/function! And yes, there are already 2 empties at the ends, but I chose to hide them so it looks a bit more as if the Caliper is 1 special object, in stead of a group of objects... Maybe I should unhide them by default? That would also mean I can take a lot of the controls away (setting location of start and end would just mean moving those empties).

    Thanks for the useful feedback! And keep it coming!



  7. #7
    Member viralata's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Cordelle, France
    Posts
    163
    For me, the two empties are ok as you can snap, but the use ouf vertex group with object, though not user friendly is very powerfull, as you can have the caliper updated.
    What is really missing for me:
    -an easy way to offset the arrows and the text (I can edit the arrows and change the offset of the text, but it's very tedious), in most of the cases I don't want the arrows to be on the geomety.
    -constraint the dimensions in some axis

    But it's already really great
    http://www.veroniquepopinet.com/ Photostories from my wife, photojournalist
    http://viralata.fr/en My professional site (still mostly in french ) about architecture and Blender
    http://chantierlibre.org Fablab near Roanne



  8. #8
    Member viralata's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Cordelle, France
    Posts
    163
    I did a video tutorial about it, I was so happy you released it , there is one in english and one in french, hoping I understood the way it works as you intended it too:
    in french:
    in english :
    http://www.veroniquepopinet.com/ Photostories from my wife, photojournalist
    http://viralata.fr/en My professional site (still mostly in french ) about architecture and Blender
    http://chantierlibre.org Fablab near Roanne



  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Athens,Greece
    Posts
    206
    Thanks Macouno for your great script, I have a problem though when I have the caliper in a scene I can't use cycles viewport rendering mode.I tried to move it in a second layer but problem remains.
    I also tried in a new fresh scene, the same.I use blender 2.64, anyone else can confirm this?



  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Athens,Greece
    Posts
    206
    And viralata thank you also for your great tutorial.



  11. #11
    I LOVE THIS PLUG-IN and have using it since 2.49 but for some reason I can't get it to work in Blender 2.64 on the Mac. Is anyone else experiencing this problem? Can anyone tell me how to resolve this problem? Oh by the way I'm using mac Pro 2x2ghz Dual-Core intel Xeon with Mac OSX 10.7.5



  12. #12
    Never mind my post user error



  13. #13
    Member McBuff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Hoogstraten, Belgium
    Posts
    464
    I had hoped I could use it in architectual visualisations. But the problem seems to be that a single calliper object drains my performance substantially.
    What I tried was to enable the calliper script and add a single calliper.
    My framerate then immediatly dropped to 10/ fps ( or something similar ).
    Removing the object didn't help, neither did disabling the calliper addon.
    I got my normal framerate back after I restarted blender.

    The scene I tested this in has about 1450 objects and my fps usually starts to get strained when i'm around 2k objects or 2M faces.
    I use the default blender 2.64a build.
    "Put Smarties tubes on cats legs make them walk like a robot"
    -Jimmy Carr



  14. #14
    Member macouno's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    netherlands
    Posts
    2,731
    Hi Everyone,

    Thanks for all the feedback and testing, this is all really usefull.

    I'll make time to look into this stuff soon. Definitely cycles render should work, and I'll make it so there's two empties at the end for ease of use.

    McBuff: ouch... yes I did not test it witch such a large scene. I will look into performance as well!



  15. #15

    Automatically link objects and vertexes (broken)

    Hey, I really loved your code so I decided to build off it!

    caliper.zip

    This is my first project with blender and python, so sorry if anything is annoying to you. The code attached does a fairly simple thing, if you are selecting two objects it will automatically link them upon creation of the caliper. Future updates will do the following

    New Feature Breakdown:
    - automatically link selected objects with a caliper (done)
    - group caliper variables under a single variable of CaliperProps (almost done, not implemented)
    - create button to automatically link their selected vertexes (done)
    - Automatically scale caliper with length, reduce default width/height (not yet started)
    - Create drawing objects that display the distance of their linked object, not themselves -- this allows you to create CAD drawings and resize the objects without impacting the distances the caliper displays. (started, have managed to create the linked objects by assigning unique ids to them, then just need to switch up caliber's link method to use the linked object data instead. Work in progress. I still don't understand quite how you keep the caliper start and end points even when you change the start and end objects names. If you know how to do this, I would love for your input)
    - allow for caliper to be moved in parallel with base length, with arrows pointing perpendicularly down (as standard cad software is able to do with calipers, like text image below) (not yet started)

    How a caliper should look:
    (note, the ' marks are because this forum wouldn't accept spaces for some odd reason)
    ------------
    ^ ' ' ' ' ' ' ' ^
    | ' ' ' ' ' ' ' ' '|
    | ' ' ' ' ' ' ' ' '|
    ' ' ' '6.2m

    Plans:
    - Then work on button interface to give user option of linking object centers / object selected vertexes
    - Implement the drawing sheet functionality (linked dimensioning), to help user with creating CAD Drawings
    - Finish up other features and bug test

    Edits to your code:
    - The only thing I added was a "return caliper" to your CaliperCreation function. Everything else is mine

    Anyway, I'd be interested in working with you on these if you wanted to set up a repository or something. I might be quitting my job soon to work on making Blender as good as any full fledged CAD software (only half joking...)
    Last edited by cloudform511; 22-Oct-12 at 12:52.



  16. #16
    Originally Posted by macouno View Post
    Hi Everyone,
    McBuff: ouch... yes I did not test it witch such a large scene. I will look into performance as well!
    On this note I noticed a fairly large performance sink in your CaliperCheck code. There are two things, and they both have to do with how you used "in". First of all, you can significantly reduce your process time by cutting down the values you are checking for (what "cal_objects" does), and second of all you can reduce the time further by creating a dictionary (dictionaries use hash tables, which have very fast lookup speed)

    It may seem minor when you only have a few objects, but the lookup time for using the "in" operator could be large if the scene contains thousands of objects AND you are traversing all of them (think about it, every search has to a linear search through every object. Hash tables, on the other hand... do magic through hashing). Additionally you are refreshing this function every time the screen updates so... that would be a big performance lag.

    I haven't done any performance tests (other than make sure it still runs). McBuff: could you check to see if this makes it better?

    cleanup.zip



  17. #17
    Member macouno's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    netherlands
    Posts
    2,731
    Hi cloudform: That's pretty cool! And a lot of stuff! And a lot to respond to as well... eh... If you want to contribute that's great, but I have very little time right now. Perhaps it is best if you e-mail me (address is on my site) with a single added bit of functionality to the script so I can have a look at that.

    BTW: your cleanup does work, but I think it can be faster still... it's the next thing I'm looking into.



  18. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Guatemala
    Posts
    6
    THANK YOU for making this wonderful script



  19. #19
    Member macouno's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    netherlands
    Posts
    2,731
    Hi everyone.

    I just now published an update to the caliper: http://www.macouno.com/category/caliper/

    Now there are two empties at the ends of the caliper when created, which makes it much easier to manipulate.

    Also. The caliper now works with the Cycles rendered view!!

    I will have a look at preformance next!



  20. #20
    Splendid!!
    And all the improvements and extensions of cloudform still work, isn't it? Or do we have to add the return statement?
    I'm just considering merging both ...
    It's really great and that it's no longer cycling cycles is cool also - this always creates a huge delay for me. And could it be useful to add the track to constraint automatically to every text object? So that it's always visible - oh, I realise, this would be very CPU heavy inverse kinematics, not? Then sorry for proposing that ..

    Thank you for your work! (how didn't I know of it until today ...)



Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •