Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Member cekuhnen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Grosse Pointe Woods, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    11,973

    shadow catcher with Cycles?

    Hi there,

    does anybody maybe know if it might be possible with Cycles to create a material that only catches the shadow and leaves the rest of the material transparent?



    Claas



  2. #2
    Nice 3D models = 25 % K.I.S.S + 25 % common sense + 25 % Inspiration + 25 % Knowledge
    Win 10 64 bits / Thanks and a Happy 2.77 with Cycles



  3. #3
    Member eppo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Jurmala, Latvia
    Posts
    5,310



  4. #4
    Member cekuhnen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Grosse Pointe Woods, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    11,973
    ah darn - compositing tricks would be too much for the students to deal with.



  5. #5
    Originally Posted by cekuhnen View Post
    ah darn - compositing tricks would be too much for the students to deal with.
    I guess you use it for product design presentations and you want to place the productrenderings on various backgroundimages.

    Based on the obove tutorials I made a Compositor-Setup to save the Rendering with Alphatransparent shadows.
    This way you can import the Rendering to Photoshop and put it on what ever you want.

    Once the Compositing is set up your stundents can render every product they want and they don't have to deal with the Compositor every time :-)
    I hope it's useful for you.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot.jpg 
Views:	4270 
Size:	369.2 KB 
ID:	210074

    Kind regards
    Alain
    Artwork - Farnsworth House
    Equipment - Intel Pentium 2.8 GHz 2 Cores, 8 GB RAM, GeForce GTX TITAN 8GB, Blender 2.72, Win 7 64 Bit, NVIDIA Driver current version



  6. #6
    Member Noke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    89
    Originally Posted by Alain View Post
    I guess you use it for product design presentations and you want to place the productrenderings on various backgroundimages.

    Based on the obove tutorials I made a Compositor-Setup to save the Rendering with Alphatransparent shadows.
    This way you can import the Rendering to Photoshop and put it on what ever you want.

    Once the Compositing is set up your stundents can render every product they want and they don't have to deal with the Compositor every time :-)
    I hope it's useful for you.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot.jpg 
Views:	4270 
Size:	369.2 KB 
ID:	210074

    Kind regards
    Alain
    Aloha Alain, are you using lighs instead of a plane with an Emission Shader under Cycles as it was under BI?
    "Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?", Philip K. Dick.



  7. #7
    Originally Posted by Noke View Post
    Aloha Alain, are you using lighs instead of a plane with an Emission Shader under Cycles as it was under BI?
    I don't know how it was in BI, but I use standard Lightobjects, no light emitting geometry.

    Kind regards
    Alain
    Artwork - Farnsworth House
    Equipment - Intel Pentium 2.8 GHz 2 Cores, 8 GB RAM, GeForce GTX TITAN 8GB, Blender 2.72, Win 7 64 Bit, NVIDIA Driver current version



  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    57
    Originally Posted by Alain View Post
    I don't know how it was in BI, but I use standard Lightobjects, no light emitting geometry.

    Kind regards
    Alain
    Hi Alain,

    would you please be so kind as to share the blend file for this setup? I am replicating the very same compositing and I am not getting the same results and I have no clue why. I am also using blender 2.65.5. My result is broken (I get wrong / darker shadows and no transparency at the end (despite the compositing node showing it). Thank you very much again



  9. #9
    @eknightGER

    Sure, here it is:
    Transparente_Schatten_00_030113.zip

    You have to save the Rendering in a Fileformat that contains Alphatransparency (PNG for example).
    And don't forget to activate "PNG with Alpha" in the Filesavingoptions.

    Kind regards
    Alain
    Artwork - Farnsworth House
    Equipment - Intel Pentium 2.8 GHz 2 Cores, 8 GB RAM, GeForce GTX TITAN 8GB, Blender 2.72, Win 7 64 Bit, NVIDIA Driver current version



  10. #10
    Member rhunecke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    80
    Hoping this Thread is not already considered dead:

    I read across different solutions to create a simple Shadow-Catcher material inside Cycles. Though your solution is quite simple it won't work with Mesh-Lights. I'm using 2.66a. I think there must be a difference between calculating shadows of standard light sources and mesh lights.

    Any thoughts on this?

    Thanks again Alain, it's a great time saver anyway, as long you don't want to use mesh lights

    Edit:
    Read across the Bug Tracker to find this:
    http://projects.blender.org/tracker/...272&group_id=9
    Last edited by rhunecke; 03-May-13 at 10:05.
    regards,
    Robert



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •