Ryeath's Sketchbook

(preview image)

Hello everybody.

As quick background I have no prior art or computer art training other than some sketching back in school 30+ years ago, so I am completely new to this.

I got started by playing a game which came with a dungeon editor. So in the process of learning to make dungeon levels people were talking about this free program called Blender and it could be used to make new items for the game. So I started using Blender to make some basic game items as shown in this picture. I had as little knowledge as possible when I started, not knowing what a vertice or a mesh was.

I made the altar, the gong, the urn and the gun (a request from another modder) from scratch and I modified the ogre monster from the game to make the ogre skull. I also retextured the wall hanging. I have been using paint.net to make my textures.

Then I found this website called Blender Artists and that’s where I learned I could use Blender to make pictures also, and there is this weekly picture contest. So I have been entering the weekly contest each week. I learn something every week and am slowly getting better. I have just started a piece that might be considered my first serious piece, but it is in the very beginning stages.

My stuff doesn’t come close to comparing to the other stuff here, but reading through the rules I sounds like it’s acceptable for even the upstarts to make a book, so here is mine. (I tend to ramble on…sorry)

edit: The bottom image is my very first Blender picture for weekly challenge #535. I didn’t know about curves yet so I made the facemask by extruding a cylinder over and over and over and rotating a little each time.

Attachments

The next picture is from challenge #536. I tried to make a hand holding the candle but after a couple hours gave up and just moved the end of the candle off screen. The time spent on the hand used up all my time and I couldn’t finish the picture how I wanted.