Page 1 of 12 12311 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 222
  1. #1
    Member zajooo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Slovakia
    Posts
    169

    Cycles NVidia MAXWELL Benchmarks

    Hi There,

    The NVidia GeForce GTX 750 and GTX 750 Ti are out, lets see what we can expect from the Maxwell architecture. Please post any benchmark of upcomming NVidia Maxwell family cards you find or you do in Cycles or any other CUDA based benchmarks.

    Thanks in advance

    with friendly regards

    Jozef
    Making gigabytes of video tutorials at http://www.youtube.com/user/BlenderSlovakia/ (SK) and started http://www.youtube.com/user/Blender3DInDepth (ENG)



  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    24
    Mike Pan BMW Benchmark

    Based on my own build, Revision 61305
    Build with VS2008, Scons, Nvidia Cuda Toolkit 6.0 RC


    System:
    CPU: Intel I7-920@3,5ghz
    GPU1: Nvidia GTX 570 @732/950/1464
    GPU2: Nvidia GTX 750ti @(1085)~1228/1375
    OS: Windows 7 64bit | Blender 2.69.11

    GTX570:
    Default settings: 83.14 s
    128x128 tiles: 63.77 s
    256x256 tiles: 48.84 s
    512x512 tiles: 49.92 s

    GTX750ti:
    Default settings: 68.87 s
    128x128 tiles: 62.34 s
    256x256 tiles: 55.25 s
    512x512 tiles: 64.19 s


    GTX570+GTX750ti
    Default settings: 39.27 s
    128x128 tiles: 32.28 s
    256x256 tiles: 27.29 s
    512x512 tiles: 31.12 s



  3. #3
    Member zajooo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Slovakia
    Posts
    169
    Thanks for the very first test !!

    Could you please make the test on the official 2.68a build, so we can compare it to some of our previous benchmarks
    http://blenderartists.org/forum/show...=1#post2448408

    here are two nice test scenes, If you are willing to do a little more testing
    http://blenderartists.org/forum/show...cles-Benchmark
    http://www.emirage.org/2013/04/24/fr...-v1-2-updated/

    any efforts are very much welcomed

    Cheers
    Making gigabytes of video tutorials at http://www.youtube.com/user/BlenderSlovakia/ (SK) and started http://www.youtube.com/user/Blender3DInDepth (ENG)



  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    24
    I canīt test the GTX750ti with official 2.68a build because the GTX750ti (Maxwell architecture) has cuda capability 5.0. which isnīt supported at the moment.
    My build is based on the official Blender Source R61305
    I compile it with default settings, only change is i added support for cuda capability 5.0 and compile with the Cuda Toolkit v6.0RC(official builds based on v5.0 or v5.5, which is necessary to build the kernel_sm_50.cubin for the Maxwell architecture.

    Only Chance is, i compile the latest blender 2.68a source with cuda toolkit v6.0RC and test it

    sorry for my bad english....

    Quick test:
    Cycles cornell bench
    Default stettings
    GTX750ti:
    2:09.67

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	test1.jpg 
Views:	790 
Size:	613.7 KB 
ID:	291503
    Last edited by Rolf; 24-Feb-14 at 14:48. Reason: Add test



  5. #5
    Member zajooo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Slovakia
    Posts
    169
    Originally Posted by Rolf View Post
    I canīt test the GTX750ti with official 2.68a build because the GTX750ti (Maxwell architecture) has cuda capability 5.0. which isnīt supported at the moment. My build is based on the official Blender Source R61305 I compile it with default settings, only change is i added support for cuda capability 5.0 and compile with the Cuda Toolkit v6.0RC(official builds based on v5.0 or v5.5, which is necessary to build the kernel_sm_50.cubin for the Maxwell architecture.
    Great, thanks for explanation, it will be helpful for other users. How about to upload your CUDA 6 RC build on http://www.graphicall.org/ ??
    Making gigabytes of video tutorials at http://www.youtube.com/user/BlenderSlovakia/ (SK) and started http://www.youtube.com/user/Blender3DInDepth (ENG)



  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    24
    I haven't a account yet.

    More Tests.
    Blender 2.69.11 Revision 61310 Hash eb4f2b4

    Pabellon_Barcelona_v1.3 Scene


    GTX750ti
    Time: 2:36.47
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	750ti.jpg 
Views:	336 
Size:	831.8 KB 
ID:	291791

    GTX570
    Time: 2:19.37
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	570.jpg 
Views:	323 
Size:	831.5 KB 
ID:	291792

    GTX570+GTX750ti
    1:16.10
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	570+750ti.jpg 
Views:	213 
Size:	830.1 KB 
ID:	291793
    Last edited by Rolf; 25-Feb-14 at 16:56.



  7. #7
    So by Rolf`s tests it seems that high-end Maxvell cards could be really great for Cycles. 750Ti is decent already.
    Work `till you bleed!



  8. #8
    Originally Posted by Bloodwork View Post
    So by Rolf`s tests it seems that high-end Maxvell cards could be really great for Cycles. 750Ti is decent already.
    I just got a 750 ti OC card but not sure how to get a version of blender that supports it. I'd be happy to do some benchmarks. Help.



  9. #9
    Rolf, its really cool. But I still don't know how to compiling for older CUDA Capability v1.0? Because I've GT8600 DDR3 which has CUDA Capability v1.0 and is it possible to make v1.0 cubin to use 'Experimental GPU Compute' settings? I apprecieted if you teach us for it and make test version for v1.0 cuda cards too. Big thanks.



  10. #10
    Member zajooo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Slovakia
    Posts
    169
    ROLF, thanks for your posts, I appreciate them very much.
    Making gigabytes of video tutorials at http://www.youtube.com/user/BlenderSlovakia/ (SK) and started http://www.youtube.com/user/Blender3DInDepth (ENG)



  11. #11
    Member zajooo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Slovakia
    Posts
    169
    Originally Posted by the muslim View Post
    Rolf, its really cool. But I still don't know how to compiling for older CUDA Capability v1.0? Because I've GT8600 DDR3 which has CUDA Capability v1.0 and is it possible to make v1.0 cubin to use 'Experimental GPU Compute' settings? I apprecieted if you teach us for it and make test version for v1.0 cuda cards too. Big thanks.
    I dont think it is possible to run it on CUDA 1.0, as far as I know, it does not have some instructions/functions that cycles uses. Time for a little upgrade.
    Making gigabytes of video tutorials at http://www.youtube.com/user/BlenderSlovakia/ (SK) and started http://www.youtube.com/user/Blender3DInDepth (ENG)



  12. #12
    750ti looks a great card. I purchased recently a used 570 2.5gb for 170 euro, I feel to have paid too much for a very old card with a 220 watt tdp...



  13. #13
    The GTX 750 Ti looks really nice.

    Here are some Tec-Specs and Prices for GTX 750 and GTX 750 Ti. (In German)
    http://www.computerbase.de/news/2014...partnerkarten/

    Power Consumption:
    http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/P...X_Dual/23.html

    Make CUDA aware of COMPUTE_50 (sm_50, Maxwell)
    http://www.miikahweb.com/en/blender/...ab54dbd7f73111



  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    24
    At request to upload my build and because i don't have an account at graphicall yet, i uploaded it in my dropdbox.
    Here is the link:
    ---------------------
    The links will only be available for a limited time.

    Blender 2.69.11 r61310 Hash eb4f2b4
    Added support for the new Maxwell architecture.
    Compile with VS2008, Scons
    Has Cuda Kernels 2.0, 2.1, 3.0, 3.5, 5.0
    i'm unable to build kernels for 1.0, 1.1, 1.2, 1.3, sry

    In relation of power consumption, the new cuda capability 5.0,
    the low price and the performance at cycles near the GTX570, it is really a awesome card.
    I've paid for my card ~136 euro, Palit GTX 750 Ti StormX OC 2GB.
    My card need no extra-6pin connector!


    Happy testing.

    Edit:
    New Blender 2.70 32/64-bit Windows with sm_50 kernel
    and for testing a special sm_50 kernel, this kernel enabled subsurface scattering and volume scatter/absorption on maxwell, only for 64bit.
    Vram usage is much higher with this kernel.
    http://blenderartists.org/forum/show...=1#post2602924
    Last edited by Rolf; 20-Mar-14 at 09:56. Reason: update



  15. #15
    Rolf is the best. Thank you thank you thank you. I downloaded your build and it works great with my GTX 750 ti! I'm in California. If I'm ever in Germany I gotta bring you a prize.



  16. #16
    Wow the GTX 750ti with 2 GB seems really great - Nearly as fast as a GTX 580 (~200watt) but only uses 60watt. And costs 140 Euros. So you can nearly buy 2 GTX 750ti for the price of one used GTX 580 with 3GB and still you consume half the power at even greater rendering speeds. Of course it is only 2GB.

    Looking forward to the higher Maxwell graphics crads.

    Maybe off topic, 2 questions came to my mind:
    1-Will cycles (or is any other GPU Renderer already able) be able to make use of the regular memory? Or is this impossible?
    2-And why is V-Ram so much more expensive as regular ram?



  17. #17
    Rolf, thanks for all info. - Got to know that GTX 750Ti is not SLi-ready. How two cards work together then? Or SLI not necessary for this? (Sorry, till now I have not much knowledge about hardware.)



  18. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    24
    Originally Posted by Mender View Post
    Rolf is the best. Thank you thank you thank you. I downloaded your build and it works great with my GTX 750 ti! I'm in California. If I'm ever in Germany I gotta bring you a prize.
    Thx
    Can you post some benchmark results of your pc?

    Originally Posted by Oskar2 View Post
    Rolf, thanks for all info. - Got to know that GTX 750Ti is not SLi-ready. How two cards work together then? Or SLI not necessary for this? (Sorry, till now I have not much knowledge about hardware.)
    i forgot to mention, the GTX750ti is not SLI ready.
    But SLI is not necessary to render with two cards , and unlike SLI, in cycles two cards of different series can work together.



  19. #19
    Hey I got questions for yas !!

    sorry im terrible with spreadsheets (from the other thread), can you please tell me how much faster the 750ti is over a 580 ?

    Ive read that the 750ti cant be SLI'd, but does that mean it wouldnt be possible to use 2 at once ? My motherboard supports sli/crossfire.

    Im also new to nvidia cards. Which brand is good ? Ive been really happy with MSI but that is with ATI.
    Last edited by Humbleroller; 28-Feb-14 at 04:54.



  20. #20
    Member SterlingRoth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    1,689
    Originally Posted by Humbleroller View Post
    Ive read that the 750ti cant be SLI'd, but does that mean it wouldnt be possible to use 2 at once ? My motherboard supports sli/crossfire.
    Originally Posted by Rolf View Post
    i forgot to mention, the GTX750ti is not SLI ready.
    But SLI is not necessary to render with two cards , and unlike SLI, in cycles two cards of different series can work together.
    here you go
    The BlenderArtist formerly known as Mexicoxican



Page 1 of 12 12311 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •