Creating a virtual tape measure in Object mode, for curved surfaces

I am an artist working with a python software developer. We need to create a virtual tape measure for a curved surface.
I have looked at existing scripts that measure straight measurements between two points. Or take the sum total of an edge loop measured in edit mode.

The obstacles I am trying to overcome are:

• Measuring the length of an edge loop vertex group, as a sum total of edge length, is only possible in Edit mode. Is there a way to get this information using a script at any time (as part of a larger script that will modify the object)?
  • As an object changes size, due to a modifier like an Armature stretching the object or a shape key morphing it, the edge measurements are only made permanent when the modifier (or shape key) is applied. Is there a way to gather vertex group measurements without applying these?
  • Or is there another way to do this that does not involve edit mode and vertex groups?

I was chatting with devs at Makehuman about their built in measuring system. They mentioned they use Numpy and SIMD and provided reference to their code. I’ve passed this on to my developer (as they may understand it) but don’t know if the same method can apply in Blender.
Some things they said were:
“It’s an O(n) operation, with n the number of reference points in the edge loops.”
“Since we simd operate the sum using numpy, its very very low cost.”
“We simply apply the morph at a certain weight and sample, and use an iterative O(lg n) algo.”

So can someone interpret that for me from a Blender point of view?

An alternative method I am considering is to place empties as reference points, constrained to vertex points on the curved object. Then have a script that measures the distance between these empties and sums them up.

Any help or advice you have that I can pass on to my developer is welcomed.

I don’t think this should be terribly hard. Is this what you want?