Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 28
  1. #1
    Member slikdigit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Northampton, MA
    Posts
    1,806

    [Addon] Floating Sliders in the 3D View

    We're entering into a portion of our project where a bunch of technical artists are creating driven animations for timelapse sequences - it would be nice if they could have simple UIs for the few parameters you can animate. So.... floating sliders seem like a nice hack.
    As to what it does, welp, Title sez it all I guess; On selection, you get some floating sliders for any custom properties on Bones (Pose Mode only)
    It is quite a hack! and thus could eat some (if not all) babies, especially if you have a really custom keymapping with the left and right mouse buttons.
    Read about it:
    http://urchn.org/post/addons-for-emp...oating-sliders
    Watch the video above or on youtube:

    And finally, you can get the code from gitorious:
    https://gitorious.org/floating-slider-blender-addon



  2. #2



  3. #3
    very cool, makes me wonder why this isn't provided as convenience type / class by default. I'm adding something similar to TextEditor to allow scrubbing values and auto updates ( a la : tributary.io - drag any of the numbers in the code view)
    Last edited by zeffii; 25-May-14 at 02:55.



  4. #4
    Member Spirou4D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Lille, France
    Posts
    1,257
    Hi slikdigit,

    Great Thanks! Amazing useful!
    I use a lot of architectural meshes moving and rotating and I can make several rig for your add-on to move it....
    Congratulations
    Bye
    Spirou4D
    Words are Images that loosed Light!
    Linux Mint 18.2 Saunya - Bi-Quad Intel 2.66Ghz x64Bytes - Nvidia OpenGL GT 630 4Go-vram



  5. #5
    Hi!
    thank you for helpful script :-)

    small problem:

    It is not possible to click widget axis ( for example Y ) and rotate - it disables rotation constrait_axis for selected bones. (Pose mode, blender 2.70a. )

    It is widgets problem only. Without widgets it works good ( E, double E )

    Ok, if you want to add custom properties for all rotations and manipulate sliders. But if not...



  6. #6
    Member slikdigit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Northampton, MA
    Posts
    1,806
    krokodil, fixed in the latest version!



  7. #7
    Awesome addon!
    It's possible slider work with CTRL?. +0.100
    Thank you!



  8. #8
    Member slikdigit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Northampton, MA
    Posts
    1,806
    floo: possible! I'm still on the phase of debugging/cleaning up the alpha, then I'll start to add some refinement/new features
    My main issue right now is making sure that it works, and doesn't break default or custom keymaps - secondary is performance and functionality. Finally I'll add features once it feels solid enough. Things I'm thinking of in no specific order:

    1- numeric input, ctrl, possibly shift for smooth input
    2- support ints and peeerhaps strings.
    3- expose 0-1 ints as bool checkboxes
    4- hover 'i' / 'alt i' over the slider to keyframe fast
    5- moving the sliders around the screen away from the bone
    6- 'pinning' to a fixed location on 3D view
    7- preferences that allow hiding sliders, accuracy/ hotspot size, whitelisting (i.e. only showing sliders for specific properties)
    8- 2D sliders that control 2 properties at once
    9- (if I can figure it out) pre-highlighiting slider when mouse is over

    Future plans: implementing a selection-on mesh setup for rigs, to be used in combination with the slider for a new type of rig UI (no visible controls on character, select directly the mesh (sorta) and have sliders show up for custom controls) Should be fun for simple fast characters.



  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Barcelona, Spain
    Posts
    586
    you should maybe talk to mc hammond, he's been doing some great improvements on his addons for animation you guys might benefit from eachother =)



  10. #10
    Member slikdigit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Northampton, MA
    Posts
    1,806
    Oh cool, wasn't aware of this, can you show me a link?



  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Barcelona, Spain
    Posts
    586



  12. #12
    instal. And don`t understang how it work.



  13. #13
    Member slikdigit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Northampton, MA
    Posts
    1,806
    Ron43: basically if you add a custom property to a bone in pose mode, and that property is a floating point number (like e.g. 1.01) the slider for that property appears in the 3D view as well, when you have that bone selected (in pose mode)
    This is useful because riggers use these custom properties for animation controls (for instance to make a mouth smile!) and now animators wouldn't have to look for them outside the 3D view.



  14. #14
    I am beginer in Blender. In other 3D soft sliders can add to any animatiable parameters. Your addon work only with bones in pose mode?



  15. #15
    Member slikdigit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Northampton, MA
    Posts
    1,806
    RoN43: yes for now, though it is theoretically possible to do it for anything. Right now my sliders have no 'filter' and no mechanism for deciding a property; enabling for all would be a bit crazy (100 sliders in the view port!)
    For future I plan to have some config; keep in mind, this script is targeted at animators and riggers, so it will be for that purpose, not general user who has a different use-case not to use the button.



  16. #16
    Member MCHammond's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Derby, UK
    Posts
    755
    @slikdigit
    This is a really interesting addon, I have been working on something totally different that is kind of similar , its called the PAE "Property Animation Editor".

    Thank you for sharing this, its great to see how someone else tackles the same issues "you did it better!". I have learned a lot from your code.

    The idea of having the tool floating in the 3Dview is ingenious. I can see it working well for rigs with less than 6 properties per bone, although if the sliders were put to the side/corner of the window you could add a big list . But I would assume if this tool were production ready, you would design your rig around the idea of keeping the number of properties per bone to an optimal number.

    I don't know if you plan to keep this light weight or if you intend to make it all powerful, but some of the features I added you might consider?

    Feature Ideas:
    If two or more bones are selected with the same property name i.e "clasp" both properties are controlled by the same slider
    Select and slide multiple sliders at once
    Enum lists for added awesomeness

    One of the features you mentioned that I really wanted to add to my script was the 2D slider but I could not work out a way to do it I guess that's a benefit of creating the UI with bgl.

    I never even thought of using bgl. I looked into creating it out of bones with custom shapes, but decided to go with using the Blender UI. I did reuse the code I wrote for it with my proxy_picker script that you might want to look at.

    I guess the "endgame" for a tool like this would be to create a UI similar to the one shown here at 2:20?

    Anyways you can view my scripts in this thread LINK video Here



  17. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Athens,Greece
    Posts
    210
    Thank you slikdigit, this is a amazing addon!! I have a performance problem though on my linux system ( OpenSuse 13.1 x64 KDE ).
    When I try to move slider it's very laggy. I test it on my macbook and on my other windows8 partition and it works fine.
    I notice that you running Gnome Shell, maybe it has to do with KDE?

    Ok, I did some more tests. First I disabled desktop effects but it was the same.
    Then I tested it on a gnome live cd and it was also the same.
    I also tried a different distro (Mint 16 with Mate desktop) and was still laggy.
    I think it's not graphic related because in my main system I have latest nvidia drivers installed.
    Last edited by bls; 30-May-14 at 12:32.



  18. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    116
    Very nice. Those sliders should be visible as a default anytime you create any new object. This will allow you to tweak parameters before you start modifying the newly created object (something like key F6) or it should appear after you apply any modification. For example Bevel, Adding Loop cuts etc. That will be much faster than calling F6 or move over whole UI to the left bottom corner to tweak the details.

    Something like Modo have.

    modo.jpg
    Last edited by dank0; 01-Jun-14 at 07:56.



  19. #19
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Athens,Greece
    Posts
    210
    So.. am I the only one that have lag issue on linux?



  20. #20
    Member slikdigit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Northampton, MA
    Posts
    1,806
    I'm not sure what the issue is.
    It is using opengl commands via bgl to draw the sliders, so maybe those particular ones are slow on linux? you could try disabling the font drawing in the addon and see if that is the issue vs. the slider.

    As to showing them all the time: I doubt it would be wise to use this method, because it is quite a hack.. it could be more of a research tool into how to enable something like this for blender in a more correct way (via C code support as opposed to python only)
    PS: I'm actually on linux myself (gnome) with nvidia gfx... strange.
    Last edited by slikdigit; 06-Jun-14 at 17:06.



Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •