Page 11 of 152 FirstFirst ... 9101112132161111 ... LastLast
Results 201 to 220 of 3034

Thread: [Addon] Animation Nodes

  1. #201
    Member Jacques Lucke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    709
    Great node a again.
    Which bugs do you have?

    Did you see the copy function every node can have? This is called every time a user copies the node. There you can change the object name.
    You can find an example how to use that in the replicator node. (it's the last function there)


    I'm planning a separator node for text , but I don't know yet how the workflow should be. Maybe someone has the time to make some mockups.
    This would be very helpful



  2. #202
    Member 3pointEdit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    8,664
    What function would the text separator serve? Would it split words or letters or lines for example?
    Cheers, David ___________"awesome in space and other places".
    ________Follow me on twitter @3pointedit
    _____________ Check the Youtube Channel for tutorials. Or my Sketchbook



  3. #203
    Member Jacques Lucke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    709
    atm I think about it this way:
    1. User creates a text object
    2. add the text separator node
    3. Choose the original text object in that node
    4. Press a button called 'Separate Text' - this copies the original object, performs the text to mesh operation and separates them with the operator 'separate by loose parts'
    5. The node has an object list as output with all these parts (and maybe the start position or an offset to keep the spacing and kerning)



  4. #204
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Barcelona, Spain
    Posts
    584
    Great idea but:

    it shouldnt turn the text into mesh because it'll become "destructive" so you wouldnt be able to change the words nor the font of the text you made, and that sorts of goes off of the way of the "animation nodes" thinking pattern

    So i'd make it take the text you write, and hide it and make a new text object per each letter that is in that text object, that you can modify and what not, and so if you want to edit the text you can revert to that "first one" that's hidden backstage and change everything again frm scratch... does that make sense?.

    btw great stuff i've been seeing, man i'm excited.



  5. #205
    Member Jacques Lucke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    709
    Yes it is a bit destructive, but because it copies the original text, this is still there.
    You can edit this and then press the 'seperate text' button again.
    This will remove the previously created objects and copies the original text again. and so on --> not very desctructive, although it isn't optimal


    Now to your idea: It is not problem to create a text object for each letter. Where I see the problem is to find the location for every letter.
    This may work great with monospace fonts, but for everything else this won't work..
    I cannot access the position of individual letters of a text object (at least I don't know how)


    thank you for trying to find a good solution



  6. #206
    Member Nikos_'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Paris - Taipei
    Posts
    211
    oh oh nice new challenge... good luck with that !

    Rainy and busy day, only had a short time to spend on Blender. I did two basic nodes that give access to object's vertices.

    Here's an example involving a math function.

    vertices.png

    The nodes :

    vertices2.png

    download



  7. #207
    Member Jacques Lucke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    709
    omg this is cool.

    we can definitly go deeper with mesh manipulation. I think the possibility exists

    But this can come later.
    The most important thing atm is to improve and stabilise the node api you use. I do that most of the time.

    [edit] I just looked at your code and have to say that again: It's impressive how much you can do with so few code lines
    Last edited by Jacques Lucke; 21-Oct-14 at 15:25.



  8. #208
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    1,118
    a couple of releases ago you could read text object data splines, that is now gone...
    maybe ask back for the feature? it was useful to separate characters

    and this project is looking great guys

    edit: no idea why it was removed, maybe on dependency cleanups done some months ago
    Last edited by liero; 22-Oct-14 at 11:52.



  9. #209
    Member Jacques Lucke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    709
    Thanks liero. Do you know why this is gone now? :/



  10. #210
    Member Nikos_'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Paris - Taipei
    Posts
    211
    Hi there,

    I am a big fan of Mikhail Rachinskiy's motion design experiments on Blender. I especially liked a cool cube effect that involves tons of drivers and empties.

    MR.png

    I tried to recreate a similar effect with Animation Nodes and it turned out to be very easy and fast (ok, ... I confess it may need further tweakings).

    Here's the blend file for those who are interested. I commented the nodes so it can be used as an introduction to the addon.

    Last edited by Nikos_; 23-Oct-14 at 05:23.



  11. #211
    Member Jacques Lucke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    709
    Nice nice
    You node trees always look so clean, in comparison to mine^^

    Through your video I got an idea for a similar effect:



  12. #212
    Member Leon Cheung's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    China
    Posts
    316
    Very nice idea Nikos! That's very inspiring.



  13. #213
    Member 3pointEdit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    8,664
    I have been trying to achieve the tron light trace effect, where a line is painted over the surface of geometry. I can't animate a texture over multiple objects so that it lines up. But I thought I could create a curve that followed a surface, unfortunately snapping doesn't create vets as required.

    So I wondered if it would be possible to create a sort of trailing array that followed a reference geometry surface? Then can the material generate a fade after the leading edge (of the array/extrude) passes a point on the surface.
    Here is an example
    http://vimeo.com/49241313

    BTW the animations by beetle at his vimeo page are inspiring for generated art.
    Cheers, David ___________"awesome in space and other places".
    ________Follow me on twitter @3pointedit
    _____________ Check the Youtube Channel for tutorials. Or my Sketchbook



  14. #214
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Sevilla, Spain
    Posts
    24
    Hi Jacques
    Great job, wonderful addon, superb collaborations programmers have been added.
    I'm just an artist and apply the art and am amazed at your work.
    I will still in wonder



  15. #215
    Member Jacques Lucke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    709
    I think I would model the line and then use the dynamic paint system.


    I'm working on a frame input for the sound input node:



  16. #216
    Member Nikos_'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Paris - Taipei
    Posts
    211
    @Jacques : Fantastic ! My god, you are on FIRE today ! Two super cool effects that will prevent us from having a good night of sleep... again....

    @Leon : Thanks ! I only created the missing node between the idea of Mikhail and the Addon of Jacques.

    On my side, nothing really sexy but these 3 nodes that will help those who are using empties, for instance, as reference point for moving other objects (x-y-z math surfaces). It may not sound very useful for now but I'll try to convince you with a relevant example very soon....

    string_replace.png



  17. #217
    Member Jacques Lucke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    709
    thanks. I said you that I have more time this and next week hehe. More stuff is already finished. The video comes later

    Hehe I wanted to make this object input by string, too.
    Maybe we can put this to the converter nodes with the name "To Object"



  18. #218
    What a great addon! Thx so much for the development .
    This question might seem a stupid question, but how do I create a grid of objects (like two array modifiers, one in x-direction the other in y-direction). I tried around but all I could get is two lines of cubes in two different directions. Is there a way to kind of create a double for-loop for replicated objects?
    Thanks =)
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by Phalaris; 24-Oct-14 at 03:49.



  19. #219
    Member Jacques Lucke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    709
    @Phalaris: Sorry a Replicate node can't be used in a loop, BUT I already implemented a node that calculates the positions for cubes in a grid.

    grid showcase.PNG

    Note that you have to add this node through the left side bar (atm) and that this node is only in a newer version



  20. #220
    Awesome, thank you =)



Page 11 of 152 FirstFirst ... 9101112132161111 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •