Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 35
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    2,263

    BMW Scene in realtime

    As the author of the original 'Cycles BMW Benchmark', I thought it would be interesting to see the same car running in the game engine. So I spent a weekend redoing the scene, materials, lighting, and geometry to make it more game-friendly. The result is this:

    6.jpg

    7.jpg

    Techniques used:
    - Videotexture for the realtime reflection
    - Easymaterial Uber material for the ground material
    - Lots of textures layers including liberal use of stencil (No nodes)
    - 2D filters for color enhancement and vignette


    You can download the work-in-progress Blender source file here.
    Last edited by mpan3; 30-Mar-15 at 14:44.



  2. #2
    Member carlo697's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Venezuela
    Posts
    813
    That looks very realistic, I have been watching your twitter and the screenshots you share there of EasyMaterial, It's looks like a very good addon. That car looks very high poly...



  3. #3
    Member GraphiX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Somewhere else
    Posts
    1,688
    Nice work, mike, as usual. If you don't mind, I think I'll make some modifications. Also, do you have a low poly version of the model? My computer doesn't seem to like 98,000 polys.
    "The world is in thought. Everything is still"



  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    2,263
    Originally Posted by carlo697 View Post
    That looks very realistic, I have been watching your twitter and the screenshots you share there of EasyMaterial, It's looks like a very good addon. That car looks very high poly...
    Thanks!


    Originally Posted by GraphiX View Post
    Nice work, mike, as usual. If you don't mind, I think I'll make some modifications. Also, do you have a low poly version of the model? My computer doesn't seem to like 98,000 polys.
    Of course you are welcomed to play with the file however you want. I am still optimizing the scene myself. The only geometry change I did was replacing the tires/tyres with a simpler mesh.

    Currently the bottleneck seems to be the mirror reflection routine. If I disable that, I can get a solid 60fps. With it on, I can only get 30fps.



  5. #5
    Member adriansnetlis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Latvia
    Posts
    4,293
    Can I handle this!!!:O
    My Blogspot my 3d development blog. I am at GTM + 2.00 time belt! Intel® Core™ i5-6300HQ 2.3 GHz(quadcore), NVIDIA GeForce GTX960M, 4GB DDR4 RAM, Linux Ubuntu 16.04.
    Worn Tires, Engine Roar, AstrumNetwork.com, Support me in Patreon



  6. #6
    Member adriansnetlis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Latvia
    Posts
    4,293
    3 fps, lol:d
    My Blogspot my 3d development blog. I am at GTM + 2.00 time belt! Intel® Core™ i5-6300HQ 2.3 GHz(quadcore), NVIDIA GeForce GTX960M, 4GB DDR4 RAM, Linux Ubuntu 16.04.
    Worn Tires, Engine Roar, AstrumNetwork.com, Support me in Patreon



  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    2,263
    Originally Posted by adriansnetlis View Post
    3 fps, lol:d
    Haha, well, on the bright side, if this were a Cycles scene, you'd have the fastest rendering time.



  8. #8
    Member hilkojj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    346
    Awesome work
    60fps on a gtx970



  9. #9
    Member adriansnetlis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Latvia
    Posts
    4,293
    GTX970!?!?! Are you all millionars here??? How is it possible to get such good GPUs? o_O
    My Blogspot my 3d development blog. I am at GTM + 2.00 time belt! Intel® Core™ i5-6300HQ 2.3 GHz(quadcore), NVIDIA GeForce GTX960M, 4GB DDR4 RAM, Linux Ubuntu 16.04.
    Worn Tires, Engine Roar, AstrumNetwork.com, Support me in Patreon



  10. #10
    Member adriansnetlis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Latvia
    Posts
    4,293
    Unfourtunately, a little problem in RtoT so I don't get so good reflection
    My Blogspot my 3d development blog. I am at GTM + 2.00 time belt! Intel® Core™ i5-6300HQ 2.3 GHz(quadcore), NVIDIA GeForce GTX960M, 4GB DDR4 RAM, Linux Ubuntu 16.04.
    Worn Tires, Engine Roar, AstrumNetwork.com, Support me in Patreon



  11. #11
    Hi, what should i do? or It do?

    After I press start or P(lay). I just got a still frame, is that correct?
    Can/should i move around or something else?

    It does show 60FPS in the left corner.

    GTX770



  12. #12
    Member Ace Dragon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Wichita Kansas (USA)
    Posts
    28,361
    Originally Posted by adriansnetlis View Post
    GTX970!?!?! Are you all millionars here??? How is it possible to get such good GPUs? o_O
    The CPU stats you placed in your signature show you have a bargain basement GeForce 610 (which is about as low-end as you can get for any series).

    That's why it would run at only 3 FPS, the only games it can run at playable speeds would be those that limit the graphics use to basic effects.
    Sweet Dragon dreams, lovely Dragon kisses, gorgeous Dragon hugs. How sweet would life be to romp with Dragons, teasing you with their fire and you being in their games, perhaps they can even turn you into one as well.
    Adventures in Cycles; My official sketchbook



  13. #13
    Member agoose77's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    6,846
    Originally Posted by adriansnetlis View Post
    GTX970!?!?! Are you all millionars here??? How is it possible to get such good GPUs? o_O
    You can get a low-end GT610 for £40, or a GTX 460 (my card) for about £40-50 (should be cheaper, surely these days), and that can run at 30 fps, no trouble.



  14. #14
    Member adriansnetlis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Latvia
    Posts
    4,293
    Yes, but I meant GTX9xx series with second number bigger than 6... Theese cost at least €300,00, but usually about €500,00. Also, Titan Z costs more than €1'700,00...:|
    My Blogspot my 3d development blog. I am at GTM + 2.00 time belt! Intel® Core™ i5-6300HQ 2.3 GHz(quadcore), NVIDIA GeForce GTX960M, 4GB DDR4 RAM, Linux Ubuntu 16.04.
    Worn Tires, Engine Roar, AstrumNetwork.com, Support me in Patreon



  15. #15
    Member Ace Dragon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Wichita Kansas (USA)
    Posts
    28,361
    Originally Posted by adriansnetlis View Post
    Yes, but I meant GTX9xx series with second number bigger than 6... Theese cost at least €300,00, but usually about €500,00. Also, Titan Z costs more than €1'700,00...:|
    The Titan Z right now is geared more for those who are using a GPU to render images and animation in software like Cycles, it's currently a bit overkill for game development (even in engines such as Unreal 4).

    A GTX 970/980 should be enough to play most games on high settings for the next few years.
    Sweet Dragon dreams, lovely Dragon kisses, gorgeous Dragon hugs. How sweet would life be to romp with Dragons, teasing you with their fire and you being in their games, perhaps they can even turn you into one as well.
    Adventures in Cycles; My official sketchbook



  16. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    2,263
    Originally Posted by Cherryman View Post
    Hi, what should i do? or It do?
    After I press start or P(lay). I just got a still frame, is that correct?
    Can/should i move around or something else?
    There is no animation yet. But you can switch to the other camera and use it to orbit the scene.



  17. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    120
    Nice scene (60fps with older GTX560). The car painting material is very realistic. Of course 100k vertises is huge amount for one car
    in game engines.

    Now I want to get that car drive ...

    Edit:
    Oh eah, did not noticed mirror effect first time, but 60 fps with that too
    Last edited by pohjan; 17-Feb-15 at 17:10.



  18. #18
    Member adriansnetlis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Latvia
    Posts
    4,293
    I know how to make it drive, but... Yeah... That's will be problem for me... Anyway- limit max velocity of car and make it force motion or use property speed combined with multiple motions(like in my 6th Gear game)
    My Blogspot my 3d development blog. I am at GTM + 2.00 time belt! Intel® Core™ i5-6300HQ 2.3 GHz(quadcore), NVIDIA GeForce GTX960M, 4GB DDR4 RAM, Linux Ubuntu 16.04.
    Worn Tires, Engine Roar, AstrumNetwork.com, Support me in Patreon



  19. #19
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    2,263
    A couple more pictures (with light color correction):

    5.jpg

    6.jpg



  20. #20
    Member BluePrintRandom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    NoCal Usa
    Posts
    18,333
    Can you bake that detail over to a low poly mesh?

    Break it and remake it - Wrectified
    If you cut off a head, the hydra grows back two.
    "headless upbge"



Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •