Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 138

Thread: Engine Roar

  1. #21
    i have linux on a 32gb usb stick. full instalation, not a live version. works perfect and i got my pc to go wherever i am. i also use windows, but only when there is no linux version of the program i want to use. gimp starts so much faster on linux. and i hate windows doing thing in the background and i dont know what it is doing. my hdd runs all the time on windows.



  2. #22
    Engine Roar (Test 0.05)
    Damage to the machine.

    Last edited by Puup Zemlya; 10-Apr-16 at 10:48.



  3. #23
    Member adriansnetlis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Latvia
    Posts
    4,302
    It looks pretty, but the lag is just horrible. You may want to switch screen recorder and/or optimise game!
    My Blogspot my 3d development blog. I am at GTM + 2.00 time belt! Intel® Core™ i5-6300HQ 2.3 GHz(quadcore), NVIDIA GeForce GTX960M, 4GB DDR4 RAM, Linux Ubuntu 16.04.
    Worn Tires, Engine Roar, AstrumNetwork.com, Support me in Patreon



  4. #24
    Engine Roar (Test 0.05)

    Now I use the program "Recordmydesktop" video is now without much lag

    Changes:
    1. Damage to the machine.
    2. Lod optimization.
    3. Test 5 opponents.
    4. Improved track "Dump"

    Last edited by Puup Zemlya; 10-Apr-16 at 10:48.



  5. #25
    Member adriansnetlis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Latvia
    Posts
    4,302
    Wow... Looking better and better!
    My Blogspot my 3d development blog. I am at GTM + 2.00 time belt! Intel® Core™ i5-6300HQ 2.3 GHz(quadcore), NVIDIA GeForce GTX960M, 4GB DDR4 RAM, Linux Ubuntu 16.04.
    Worn Tires, Engine Roar, AstrumNetwork.com, Support me in Patreon



  6. #26
    Very professional work, apart from the lag, everything looks awesome!
    It also reminds me of FlatOut 2, a really cool game. Keep up the good work
    UPBGE http://upbge.org/ - Know some C/C++ or Can help with the project? Join #upbgecoders @ irc.freenode.net



  7. #27
    Member MarvinCJames's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Grenada
    Posts
    483
    Amazing visuals, you should start working on that lag



  8. #28
    Member adriansnetlis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Latvia
    Posts
    4,302
    I see you enable normal on diffuse texture for ground. That makes the normalmap look pixelated and drops framerate aswell. I would take the texture, copy it, open in GIMP and do Filters -> Map -> Make normalmap(I don't remember if this needed plugin, but I think that it didn't) and it will generate it for you. Export as the TextureName_n.png or something like that and open as another texture for ground. in Image Sampling(Texture tab) enable normalmap and enable normals below. Disable normals for the diffuse color
    My Blogspot my 3d development blog. I am at GTM + 2.00 time belt! Intel® Core™ i5-6300HQ 2.3 GHz(quadcore), NVIDIA GeForce GTX960M, 4GB DDR4 RAM, Linux Ubuntu 16.04.
    Worn Tires, Engine Roar, AstrumNetwork.com, Support me in Patreon



  9. #29
    Engine Roar - CONQUEROR




  10. #30
    Progress / Changes:
    1. New Track - The Concrete Road
    2. New сar - CONQUEROR
    3. Improved menu
    4. Screensaver!

    ]



  11. #31
    Member Nines's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Montana, America
    Posts
    648
    Originally Posted by adriansnetlis View Post
    I would take the texture, copy it, open in GIMP and do Filters -> Map -> Make normalmap(I don't remember if this needed plugin, but I think that it didn't)
    It does require a plug-in to make normal maps (at least in my version of Gimp...v2.8)

    What I do to make normal maps, at least this works well for things like terrain:
    -Greyscale your diffusion texture. Adjust as needed.
    -For ground/grass/dirt/etc, I usually take a duplicate of the greyscale image, set it as a layer over the other, set it to Multiply, and give it a healthy dose of Tileable Blur. This gives the whole height-map a bit of semi-accurate bumpy topology on top of the finer details.
    -In Blender, create a plane, subdivide it a whole lot (I usually subdivide it a few times, then use a subSurf modifier to get further subdividisions). The bigger your texture, the more divisions you'll need.
    -Unwrap the plane (so your texture will fit it the way you want).
    -Give it a Displace modifier, set its texture to the height-map you made in Gimp. Adjust settings to your liking (remember, less is more!)
    -Bake the normal from your displaced mesh onto another plane, and save the baked normal map!
    -You can also use this to get your AO map too, if you want that.

    Sounds like a chore, but much of this you can set up in a .blend file and re-use it. Just swap out the displacement texture, and re-define the dimensions of your baked image if necessary.
    Current Project: First-Person Rogue-lite
    Got IRC? Come chat! irc.freenode.net @ ##bathwater



  12. #32
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Madrid (Spain)
    Posts
    287
    Puup, for recording you should use "Simple Screen recorder". It is the best/fast recorder for linux. Try it :-).

    BTW, very nice work. I will contact you to test the new joystick vibration support that i'm implementing (if you can, of course)
    Last edited by lordloki76; 17-Sep-15 at 01:27.



  13. #33
    Member ChaosEmergency's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,005
    Great work but what is causing lag, is it your rig or poor optimization ?
    My computer specs:
    Amd 4100 fx 3.6ghz | Radeon R9 280 3gb | 8 gig ram



  14. #34
    Member adriansnetlis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Latvia
    Posts
    4,302
    I've tested latest concrete road file and it is ~20 FPS on GeForce GT 610. Not bad at all for the high detail. When it comes to optimisation, I may help in the part of materials where they should be managed well and texture atlases are needed.
    My Blogspot my 3d development blog. I am at GTM + 2.00 time belt! Intel® Core™ i5-6300HQ 2.3 GHz(quadcore), NVIDIA GeForce GTX960M, 4GB DDR4 RAM, Linux Ubuntu 16.04.
    Worn Tires, Engine Roar, AstrumNetwork.com, Support me in Patreon



  15. #35
    Engine Roar - KELSEY




  16. #36
    Originally Posted by lordloki76 View Post
    Puup, for recording you should use "Simple Screen recorder". It is the best/fast recorder for linux. Try it :-).

    BTW, very nice work. I will contact you to test the new joystick vibration support that i'm implementing (if you can, of course)
    Thank you! I use ''RecordMyDesktop'. Think that it is the most faster recorder for Linux. I know about "Simple Screen recorder" and I tested all programs for recording.


    We will do support joystick, if possible )



  17. #37
    Originally Posted by ChaosEmergency View Post
    Great work but what is causing lag, is it your rig or poor optimization ?
    Thank you! Perhaps the problem in CPU but game working good.



  18. #38
    Member haidme's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sofia
    Posts
    1,910
    Your modeling and texturing skills are awesome! Keep to this style. One thing I would change if I was your is the maps/environment. This game is crying for MadMax like environment - post-apocalyptic look.
    Game project: KRUM , Tomato Jones , BuildMoreCubes , Tomato Jones 2 -- all on Steam



  19. #39
    Member BluePrintRandom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    NoCal Usa
    Posts
    18,404
    what does your profiler say % wise?

    what is eating your fps?
    Break it and remake it - Wrectified
    If you cut off a head, the hydra grows back two.
    "headless upbge"



  20. #40
    Originally Posted by BluePrintRandom View Post
    what does your profiler say % wise?

    what is eating your fps?
    What do you mean?(rating?)
    I put 60 and all working good. GeForce GT 730



Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •