camera position into OSL script

I need to get the camera position into my OSL shader, and I’m wondering how to do this. I know I can get the vector from the camera to a sample point, but that won’t help me. I need the vector from the camera to the origin.

In short, I need to get the camera position as a vector, take the cross-product (I think), do a small quaternion rotation around that cross product, then render the second viewpoint and mix it with the first. This isn’t supposed to be a stereo view per se, but is for verifying that stereo vision won’t interfere with some imagery - which is also generated in OSL. So I’m doing all this in OSL for real-time viewing.

Because it has to be basically real-time interactive, I’m using OSL in Cycles so we can just rotate the perspective view around - so setting up a stereo camera rig and then rendering won’t help me. I need it more interactive than that.

Though I started programming in Python before recently venturing into C (specifically for OSL), I’m not having much luck with Blender Python. My thought is that a Blender Python script could read the camera position, then create a node expressing that position as a vector. Then I would just plug that node into my shader node. Does this seem like the right approach?

thanks

You can only calculate the camera position when the ray type is ‘camera’, multiplying the RayLength by I and adding P.

point CamPos;
float L;
if (raytype("camera"))
{
getattribute("path:ray_length", L);
CamPos=L*I+P;
}

All the other rays won’t work.

PS:Or you can get the camera position with drivers and input the vector into your shader.

Thanks Secrop, I really appreciate the help. I’d been having trouble getting my OSL shader to compile, so I switched to using the trace:hitdist attribute. I’m using the osl-languagespec.pdf from github, but maybe I should be using Blender-specific docs to their implementation. Here’s what I have so far.

shader GetCam(
    point surfP = P,
    vector Inc = I,