Netimmerse File format (.NIF) importer script in the works

Just a sort of announcement. I am working at an import script for the Netimmerse file format. So far I read and the geometries properly, though I still have to implement the vertex normals (Blender doesn’t seem to mind, but I’ll need them for exporting when I get to it). I am a total beginner at writing anything in python, and don’t know the first thing about the Blender scripting API, so it’s likely that my code isn’t the best approach at reading a NIF file in Blender. Anyone’s help in getting this to work would be greatly appreciated. The homepage for the project is at http://games.groups.yahoo.com/group/NIFLA/ , the code can be downloaded from the files section. Please feel free to drop in and give it a try, and possibly contribute at it.

[EDIT] Oh, yeah, I forgot. The netimmerse format is used by several commercial games, most notably Morrowind and Freedom Force. The script I am building primarily deals with the Morrowind version of the file (Netimmerse 4.0.0.2, same as Freedom Force) but I tried to keep the structure of the importer flexible enough to allow importing earlier or later versions with a few modifications. Other games using other versions of the Netimmerse files are Dark Ages Of Camelot and Bridge Commander

Thank you!!! I was going to learn python just to do this script, but I never got around to it. I love morrowind, and make mods for it, but I never could make my own models. This looks like it has alot of potential to increase the exposure for blender on many modding forums, and bring in a bunch of new users!

/d_M :smiley:

I’m giddy with happiness!

Your Script looks really good. I love Morrowind too and i also thought about moding for it. (I just bought the GotY-Edition.) There is a huge need for Blender in the MW Community, because new Models are only possible with 3dsMax. I hope Youre Scripts will break this Frontier.