DAZ Genesis1/2 .dae rigging addon

Okay, I haven’t followed this section of the forum. I don’t know if this is the place to post a WIP thread, but I do know that 98.2% of the public don’t believe that rigging done in Python code belongs aside artwork. And, I also know that I am a beginner.

What I’m working on is an add-on to create a character body rig given a Genesis or Genesis2 model, imported by .dae file, from DAZ Studio. It doesn’t yet create “my rig”, but it does clean out unused bones, set proper bone rolls, and rename bones with DEF- prefix and proper .L/.R suffix. I don’t know how badly it will choke on a Genesis3 armature, since I don’t have one to experiment with. It is still a WIP, but I thought I’d post the code, since it is already quite useful for cleaning up a Genesis1/2 dae import.

It works as an add-on. Just drop it into your addons folder and it shows up in the armature property panel. I would really like feedback on that portion of the code(Gen2_Rig). It is barebones, and I don’t really understand everything involved in getting that button into the properties panel. I’ve taken code from Rigify’s ui.py file, and stripped it to fit what I’m doing. That portion seems to operate correctly, but I’m curious if it’s missing anything.

At this point, the only real caveat is, it expects the object and it’s armature to both be named “RootNode”(That’s the default for a DAZ dae.)

The guts of the code(Gen2_Generate) is nothing elegant. It’s just top-down, brute force, step by step.