I'm intimidated

So, I have no formal education in software development. I have been working as a programmer for the last 7 years, though I started teaching myself way before. Professionaly I worked on some rather complex apps with Flex, PHP and MySQL, but the last few years I focused on Unity/C#. As a Blender-Enthusiast, I figuerd I might as well get into Blender development, to expand my horizon and to work on something that I really love as a user. So I went about setting up my development environment and it all went smooth, I could pull the repository and build Blender on my computer. Now, my problem is not the coding part. It definitely will be a challenge, but I’m up for it. My problem is, I never worked on a team before. I used Subversion and I’m using Mercurial everyday, but mainly as a backup system for myself. Long story short, I’m pretty intimidated to work on such a huge project, at the same time I’m terribly curious to learn this workflow. My question basically: is everyone contributing to Blender thoroughly familiar with the process, or is it normal for lots of devs to be kind of overhelmed with the complexity of this project (codebase-wise and teamsize-wise)? Should I even try to get comfortable with this or would you advise me anyways to better get some experience working on big teams and come back later? Thanks for reading, I’m trying to make up my mind, as this definitely will requiere quiet some dedication to become a valuable contributer (as opposed to an annoying wannabee) :wink:

That is perfectly common & natural.
With every challenge one first challenges self in doubt.
Keep the faith. Have confidence and trust yourself… you’ve come so far.
Dedication is admirable value.

Finally no one knows it all, it is interaction making it & us whole…