Mabry Mill Render

Greetings,
I found many images of this water mill online. Though it looked nice and seemed easy enough for me to model. I’m pretty new at Blender, spending the last year studying tutorials from Andrew Price, Sardi Pax and Rob Tuytel and others. Would love some feedback. Also, not entirely happy with the water on the water wheel. I’ve tried a few times with auto and manual world size. I used a resolution of 350 for the bake and it took about a day to calculate. I’d like the water to look less ‘blobby’. It seems like it needs more detail or smaller drops?
Thanks in advance,
Bob

Attachments

I don’t have any tips for you on the fluid, that stuff is always tricky, but I feel I need to complement you on the trees and foliage, that looks amazing!! How did you make it?

Great work Robert! The mill is a great choice of subject for a render, but I may be biased because I’m originally from Roanoke and loved visiting this place.

I agree, the scale of the water drops on the wheel is way off. I’m wondering if it needs to splash at all; the water would behave like that only if the wheel were spinning unrealistically fast, or stopped suddenly. The water usually comes off the flume in more of a sheet or gentle waterfall, and falls out in several sheets as it falls off the paddles at the tail race. There might be a bit of splashing in the tail race, if the water volume is high, but you really don’t see it otherwise between the inflow and outflow. Long story short, I wouldn’t necessarily use a fluid simulation for the water in a static image.

I really like the materials and texture on the building. However the stone texture on the bridge and elsewhere looks flat. Did you use any bump or displacement on those?

The vegetation is nicely done. You should reduce the scale of some of the leaves, particularly around the mill and on the wall.

Hi Proud, I used Grove 3D for the trees. Used some of their ‘twigs’ or leaves and also my own.