Different ways to model this kind of volumes

Ok, so, i posted recently asking about some issues on my model, but now i think this is a better way to solve or learn about this.

Could you please tell me wich is or are the best ways to model this kind of things?

Im talking about the incicions, the lines between parts. I have tried making cut with CTRL+R and extruding, but some strange faces where created and then using the knife tool but it was strange also because the modeling was not clean anymore and new faces changed the shapes. Probably its about textures, or different objects. I dont know!

One of the images is from google and the other one a render from someone else. Patience please im new with Blender!

Attachments

Decide how close the camera will go and based on that, which protruding details affect the silhouette (apart from the obvious major forms). Those ones need to be modeled. The rest can use a normal map. Normal map can also be used for details that go inwards, with or without supporting geometry depending on the size and distance to the camera.

One way to get the panels modeled is to model the major forms, then use those forms to conform the panel geometry on top (retopology). Could create a new object or duplicate and separate geometry from the existing one, then use a modifier stack:

• mirror for symmetry
  • shrinkwrap with offset to get the geometry on top of another object and offset the geometry
  • solidify with rim only option on to get the panel sides where the surface is cut
  • and bevel with suitable angle to get a small bevel on the panel sides/corners

Thanks a lot for the information. Great answer.

I clearly need to learn more about the modifiers and concepts you are talking about. Do you know any specific tutorials to learn about them?, i know there are lots on youtube but probably you could know exactly where to go.