Realistic Wolf (Blender Cycles)

Here’s my wolf I’m working on atm. Still needs leg fur, tail fur and eyes.

Total hairs: 1,055,027

Render time: 2 mins 18 seconds

Samples: 100

Resolution: 100% 1920 x 1080

(I’m new to BlenderArtists and this is my first post so apologies if I don’t do it properly or anything)

Making of thread here: https://blenderartists.org/forum/showthread.php?404041-Realistic-Wolf-(Blender-Cycles)-Making-Of

Youtube video explanation -> https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bcCuUBIiI1I

1 Like

HOLY MOLLY! Welcome to BA!! This is very impressive --> I would like to ask you lots of questions, if you don´t mind.
Regardless whether you mind or not, I´ll ask this: would you please share a viewport render and do you have an online portfolio/some place work you´ve done before can be marveled at?

Keep us posted, cheers!:yes:

Wow man. Seriously nice fur.
Definitely tell us more about your process, settings etc if you feel like it!

I’m going to go so far as to suggest that that’s an edited photograph, because my eyes flat-out do not believe that what they’re seeing is CGI.

The fur looks really good! I’m looking forward to seeing the final result

most convincing fur I’ve ever seen coming out of Blender :slight_smile:

oh now, they cut off the legs and the tail. no, just kidding, this is awesome. i also love the “alive” expression of his face.

critics: the ears seem a little to thick and can be bigger. but these are more suggestions than critisism.

i would like to know the technical data of your computer and graphics card

Yes hi, sir, i would really love to know how you’ve accomplished that marvelous looking fur. I mean. I’d REALLY love to know, like oh please CGI god, inspire this human cookie to create a tutorial.

@bluebiscuits My first question is how are your render times that low? Secondly hair is something people have a lot of trouble with. I think the community would love to see how you did this, either via a tutorial or short making of.